Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Winterizing, Storage, Carports & Covers
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-27-2021, 04:23 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2012 27' FB International
Clinton , Washington
My tanks are frozen

I took my trailer in for service winterized and they returned it to me with full water tanks without my asking them to do that. They also changed out the propane tanks and replaced them with empty ones unbeknownst to me. So I turned the furnace on before going out of town for a few days to prevent it from freezing up and I thought it was running but it was actually just blowing cold air

I got back home from spending christmas with my family and the whole thing is frozen up. Such a bummer. I'm still learning my way around my trailer!

I filled the propane tanks about an hour ago and cranked the heat up to 80. I have the kitchen and bathroom faucets open. How long do you think it'll take to thaw out (it's about 20 degrees outside but will probably drop to around 15 overnight)? Will one 7 gallon propane tank make it through the night or should I switch the supply to the second tank? Is there anything else I should do? What do you think the odds are that I'll have burst pipes or other damage?

Thanks in advance for any advice, I'm really worried this is going to be an expensive headache!
WhidbeyGurl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2021, 04:34 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2017 28' International
Jim Falls , Wisconsin
WHAT!!! I would not let them get by with that nonsense!! I would be made as ….