Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-23-2016, 08:13 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2014 19' Flying Cloud
Livingston , Texas
Elec. jack footpad

Newbie here to towing and need some advice. I just bought a 2014 19 FC about 8 weeks ago. We have been on the road since and was just at the factory for a minor repair and plant tour. We hitched up as normal and about 40 mi. Away my wife heard a small thud or bump. Initial inspection nothing. Upon arrival at our CG I started to lower the Jack and discovered the footpad of the Jack was missing. I thought it was welded on.
Can this be replaced? If it is replaceable can it be welded on or pinned somehow to the shaft so not to be lost again? Where do you get a replacement? Help please.
Munchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 08:23 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2002 30' Classic S/O
Fleming Island , Florida
The foot on my 2001 Safari 25 attached with a pin through a hole in the jack tube. There was no hole (and no foot) on my 2002 Classic 30 Slideout when I picked it up. Does your tube have the hole? If not, you can drill one. Most feet have a crimp about an inch down from the top. Put the foot on and lower the jack enough to hold it in place and match drill the tube to the foot. As an alternative, you can just pick the foot up and stow it as a part of your packing up routine. The label on my tall foot said to remove it before towing, and I do.

I needed a foot for my Classic and ordered one from Amazon. You can probably get one any place that carries trailer stuff. Harbor Freight, Tractor Supply, Northern Tool, Ace Hardware, maybe even Lowes or Wal-mart.

Measure the diameter of your tube to be sure.

Al
2002 Classic 30 Slideout -S/OS #004
2013 Dodge 2500 Laramie 4x4 Megacab Cummins
Al and Missy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 08:39 AM   #3
Site Team

2009 25' FB International
2018 27' Globetrotter
Tavares , Florida