Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-08-2007, 09:04 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1982 34' Limited
Chatham , Ontario
Is God mad at me ?

The answer is obviously no!
However, sometimes it feels like it! I am into month #4 since we have purchased our first airstream. I was the one who convinced my wife that this was the right thing to do. I am a renavation contractor by trade and I can fix anything, so buying a 1982 34' "abused" airstream did not scare me. The other thing you should know is that I do not post!!! I am from the old school! This is an act of frustration! Here is the history:
- convince wife to purcase trailer
- remove all smelly fabrics and carpets
- Find rotted plywood floors due to water leaks
- convince wife it's ok , I can fix anything,
- attempt to fix leaks from exterior
- "experience total failure"
- remove whatever interior components are in the way and interior liner panels, in an attempt to identify source of leaks
- find leaks and attempt to fix from interior using "Tremco Volcum 116" by the tube with no restraint on quantum.
- after feeling that I had probably succeeded a subsequant rain proved that I had indeed failed.
- a closer look showed that the tail lights were leaking at the rear and the battery boxes were leaking at the front
- a very detailed and careful execution of the repairs and expectation of success was expected.
- a subsequent rain proved that I had failed - again!
- I decided that leaks could not be repired by caulking adjaicent surfaces and that over laping surfaces had to be sealed integerally
- I removed tail lights and re -sealed inside and out, remembering to think like water runs
- I did the same with the battery boxes.
- I repaired the plywood floors thinking that I had done a very good job on the leaks
- rain followed 2 days later only to prove that I had failed miserably