Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-01-2022, 11:05 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2006 30' Classic S/O
Stanton , Michigan
Caulk

I've read lots of threads on what type of caulk to use. I see the most recommended one is Sikaflex 221 and even the Airstream Supply Store recommends this. My concern. I've read the directions and Safety Data Sheets on this, scared the heck out of me. The directions clearly state that this should be handled by a professional only. Well I am by no means a professional repair person. So I can only assume some of you are or close enough to it to use this stuff. It also states once cured it can only be removed mechanically. Whatever that would be. So what to use for roof (white), seams/rivets (silver) and undercarriage (black) that won't scare the heck out of me to use. If I am overreacting please tell me so. Thanks for your input.
Silver.Gypsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2022, 11:15 AM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1963 26' Overlander
Waynesville , Georgia
Caulk

I used Trempro 635 (white and gray) and Parbond from Vintage Trailer Supply. Cleaned hands with mineral spirits then washed well with Dawn. So far so good.
ChristyB56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2022, 11:24 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1967 17' Caravel
Oak Creek , Colorado
Same here. Wear gloves.
Dingo Girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2022, 12:31 PM   #4
CRH
Rivet Master

1995 25' Excella
xxxxx , xxxxxx
I really like Parbond. I put it in a seam and immediately wipe it with a rag soaked in mineral spirits. That action pushes the caulk into the seam I am trying to seal and removes the excess.
CRH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2022, 01:43 PM   #5
Rivet Puller

2003 28' Safari S/O
Atlanta Burbs , Georgia
Litigous Society