Old 10-01-2020, 04:23 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2012 25' FB Flying Cloud
Saanichton , British Columbia
Installing Max II Vent Covers

Anyone have experience installing vent covers over the vents. New to Airstream trailers, actually first trailer ever, so newbie here. I was wondering about being on the roof and not denting it and also the Fan-Tastic Vent's on my 2012 Flying Cloud appear to have a casing around it, making screwing into and bolting clamps from Max II covers look challenging? Any help would be appreciated, thanks!
jamvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2020, 04:46 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

2019 22' Sport
2020 23' Flying Cloud
Sebastian , Florida
The mounts for the covers I put on my SOB simply screwed in from the sides. I had a local shop do our first A-S, for a reasonable charge, and am trusting the rain sensors on our current trailer as long as we are in the campground. I wish A-S offered the choice.
You are right, it is a stretch from a ladder on the side, and you don’t plant anything firmer than your belly on the roof. Some use a foam base under plywood to distribute the load of a person leaning in. I would never Climb fully on top. A tall stepladder, very well braced is an absolute requirement. (As well as paid up life insurance)
GetawA-S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2020, 06:30 PM   #3
CRH
Rivet Master

1995 25' Excella
xxxxx , xxxxxx
I have been on my AS roof dozens of times. I use 1/4" plywood squares to move around on.

I recently put a Maxxair cover on my Fantastic Fan. It is an easy job. You have to take down the shroud inside and lower the fan so you can put the nuts on the machine screws that hold the brackets on. Not a big deal.
CRH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2020, 06:34 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2014 25' Flying Cloud
Cuddebackville , New York
When on the roof, walk only on the rivet lines.
Old 10-01-2020, 10:39 PM   #5
1 Rivet Member

2012 25' FB Flying Cloud
Quote:
Originally Posted by GetawA-S View Post