Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-16-2020, 03:26 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1968 26' Overlander
Durham , North Carolina
Fan-Tastic Vent replacement recommendations

Hi,

I have two (2) Fan-Tastic vents in my '68 Airstream Overlander. This past weekend one of them stopped working. I called Dometic for help (still in warranty)..after waiting on hold for almost an hour I got to talk with a customer service representative. I explained my problem and she told me I first had to determine if the fan motor was getting power. I explained to her that the fan was running and it basically just quit working. He became pretty rude and condescending and our conservation basically ended. I then went to the AS to see if I could determine if the fan motor was getting power. I put a jumper on the fan speed switch and the fan began to spin. I'm not an electrician but that seems to me that maybe the fan speed switch is possibility bad. I called Dometic back and got a different CSR and explained everything to him. He asked if there was continuity with the fan speed switch...again I'm not an electrician and he also told me that he wasn't a technician and that I would have to take it to a service center. I asked him where the closest one was and he told me to Google it.

I try to be polite and patient as I can be but if the manufacturer of the product doesn't have qualified support staff answering questions on their support line, then they are pretty much useless in my opinion.

Please forgive my rant and my question is...are there other replacement products that you would recommend other than Dometic Fan-Tastic? I refuse to do business with companies that have poor customer service.

I realize that many folks may have had great experiences with their Fan-Tastic vent and I say "great"...it is just not what I experienced.

Thanks,

Pete
goswick is offline   Reply With Quote