Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-13-2006, 07:23 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1964 28' Ambassador
Natalia , Texas
Question Window Crank Arm removal

Hi, I have a 64 Ambassador that I am working on and need to remove some windows to replace glass and other repairs. How do you remove the window crank arm from the window frame? I see the groove it slides and the area at the top with the slot but can't seem to get the arm out. Maybe I am just to leary of breaking it, does it just pop out or do you pry it at a specific location? any guidance will be appreciated. I know that once the arm is disconnected the frame slides out to the side. Also one frame is broken at a corner, should I get it wielded or can I use something like JB Wield?

thanks
Bill
wohtex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2006, 07:40 PM   #2
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
Welcome to the forums.
I have removed mine by unscrewing the two mounting screws on each window crank and sliding each mechanism up and out of the slot near the top of the windowframe.
Old 04-13-2006, 10:55 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

1964 28' Ambassador
Natalia , Texas
Question Window Crank Arm Removal

Hi Terry, thats the part I was unsure of when you get the arm to the top of the slot does it just pull out or what, mine don't seem to want to come out of the slot.

Bill
Old 04-13-2006, 11:26 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1948 16' Wee Wind
1953 21' Flying Cloud
Denver , Colorado
Ohio or California trailer??

Hi Bill: