Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-23-2015, 02:24 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1973 31' Sovereign
Sumiton , Alabama
Replacement Lock for 1973 Land Yacht

I am new to the airstream community and just purchased a vintage 1973, 31' Land Yacht. It is missing the front door latch "KT Lock 70-77 Airstream" and the price for it is almost $500 for just the assemble.. My question to the community would be does anyone have a work around for this and replacement part etc? My plans are a total remodel so i'm not looking for vintage but it needs to look nice and latch when the door is closed. I did see the post about using a dead bolt but that still does resolve the issue with latching the door close..help please.
mingle51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 03:09 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 25' Tradewind
Bloomsbury , New Jersey
latch

I bought the bullet and paid for one, figured do it right. There is an adaptable latch people use, but I do not know what it is called, or where to get it. welcome to the forums btw!. MPJ
moparjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 05:56 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

1973 31' Sovereign
Sumiton , Alabama
Thanks moparjohn I might need to do the same but just seems way over priced.
Old 09-23-2015, 07:00 PM   #4
4 Rivet Member

1971 31' Sovereign
1973 29' Ambassador
1978 31' Sovereign
Palm Desert , California
I had to bite the bullet 8 weeks ago too. I think I got the last one in the country unless Airstream found a vendor to start making them again.
CaCraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2015, 11:07 AM   #5
1 Rivet Member

Sunrise , Florida
I just purchased a 73 Land Yacht, and am in the same predicament. Aside from the locks being $500, they're basically unavailable. I'm working on a retrofit with a deadbolt/catch combo this weekend, I'll take pics and let you know how that goes.
Betterinblue is offline   Reply With Quote