Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-11-2022, 08:25 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2020 30' Classic
Atlanta , Georgia
Door Striker Post / Bolt is Loose

Hello Airstream Community,

I am a newbie to the RV world and have only owned my 2020 Airstream classic for a few months but bought it with a loose striker bolt/post .

I can get the door to shut but have to position the post/bolt to the top of the latch .....The post just turns and sags down ......When I turn the post to tighten it just spins in place. I would say it has about a 1/2" play side to side and up and down ..... Is the striker bold plate behind the door jam loose or are the threads stripped ?

I am afraid I could lose the plate behind the wall. I just don't know what is happening behind the wall . The plate appears to be riveted at the top and bottom.

Any help would be very much appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6742.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	234.8 KB
ID:	423880  
cmcwilliams7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2022, 10:59 AM   #2
2 Rivet Member

2024 30' International
2019 27' Tommy Bahama
Brush Prairie , WA
I had this happen to me some time ago, I forget the socket size i used but was able to just tighten. There is play when you loosen to adjust on how tight you want the door to close on the trailer. Pretty annoying when it happens though.
Knotflying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2022, 06:35 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

2020 30' Classic
Atlanta , Georgia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knotflying View Post
I had this happen to me some time ago, I forget the socket size i used but was able to just tighten. There is play when you loosen to adjust on how tight you want the door to close on the trailer. Pretty annoying when it happens though.