Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-15-2010, 02:21 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1963 19' Globetrotter
Currently Looking...
Orion , Illinois
Broken door hinge '63 GT

While inspecting my trailer I discovered that the bottom loop ( of the trailer side half ) of the top door hinge is broken. The loop is still attached to the hinge pin ,so I have all the parts . Is it possible to weld a piece this small (1/2" ). What type of stianless is it made of?

Another option is replacing the hinge which means locating a hinge which I think will be just about impossible as I don't think they are available. My final thought is has anyone had one fabricated and who did it for you?
63air is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 02:37 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

1964 26' Overlander
Gloucester , Virginia
I am no pro so I am sure a wiser welder will speak up if I am wrong but....I was taught that welding stainless steel requires a sealed ventilated box (the kind with the two rubber gloves sticking inside). I am not sure what chemical is released when you weld it but it's safe to say that it's probably bad for you. Might want to take this bit to a pro.
JFerguson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 05:44 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1963 22' Safari
2020 27' Globetrotter
State of , Washington
Send a message via MSN to goransons
You have a couple options. 63 is a weird year (as you'll find more and more) and had two different types of hinges. If your trailer has the door-within-a-door and its a double hinge for that, vintage trailer supply sells new stainless hinges in sets. If your door-within-a-door is mounted with a piano hinge, those hinges have not been reproduced. I would not trust a weld.

Airstream Door Hinges
is the link to the double hinge setup