Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2024, 02:37 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
2021 27' Globetrotter
Fort Lauderdale , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 612
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Vitaver
New Starlink installation for F250 cabin and RV

I am certain this was already addressed yet finding it will be a slug. Have F250 pulling GT27. While on the road we need service on the truck, while camping on the RV. I see there is a dish to use on the move but little more. Anyone with experience with this setup can please share how to? Thank you!
__________________
GT 27 2021, F250 2022 Platinum- 2022 Tesla X - 2021 Ford Mustang Mach E - 2022 Tesla 3 - 2023 Tesla S Plaid. PP3 hitch. In Motion Starlink.
GSD Sigrid - Fort Lauderdale, FL; Denver and Summit County, CO.
============
Vitaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2024, 06:03 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member
 
2023 Interstate 19
Browns Valley , California
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitaver View Post
I am certain this was already addressed yet finding it will be a slug. Have F250 pulling GT27. While on the road we need service on the truck, while camping on the RV. I see there is a dish to use on the move but little more. Anyone with experience with this setup can please share how to? Thank you!

Hi Vitaver,
The Starlink option you are referring to is the "In Motion" option and it's very expensive compared to the plans that will let you roam, but not while in motion.

The dish for the In Motion is a flat mount that is installed on the roof of your trailer. As long as you can provide power to the system while it's in motion, it should work.

The hardware is $2,500 for In Motion and the monthly rate is $250 for 50GB all the way up to $5,000 a month for the 5TB plan. If you don't need In Motion, the hardware is $600 and the monthly rate for the roam plan is $150 which can be turned off when you don't need it saving $$$.

Here's a link to the various "Roam" options: https://www.starlink.com/roam

Jim
JimMartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2024, 11:10 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
2021 27' Globetrotter
Fort Lauderdale , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 612
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Vitaver
Dish on trailer. Service both on trailer and on cab?

Thank you! In motion will obviously be while driving and needing to use it from the cabin. Being that the dish will be on top of trailer, i imagine modem, router, etc. will be there too. I see two issues: providing 110V (needs it, right?) to it and signal to use the phone is the cab. Could that be done? Not sure how, canít run the genset while driving.

I have 6 lithiums on the GT and a 110V plug on the F250, question is the amps it needs, not sure how many and if the batteries or alternator on the truck can provide that.

Thanks.
__________________
GT 27 2021, F250 2022 Platinum- 2022 Tesla X - 2021 Ford Mustang Mach E - 2022 Tesla 3 - 2023 Tesla S Plaid. PP3 hitch. In Motion Starlink.
GSD Sigrid - Fort Lauderdale, FL; Denver and Summit County, CO.
============
Vitaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2024, 09:24 AM   #4
2 Rivet Member
 
2023 Interstate 19
Browns Valley , California
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 94
I don't have any first hand experience with the In Motion dish. My experience is with Gen 2 and Gen 3 standard dishes and the roam option. With that said, you should be able convert the system to 12v (there are lots of posts on that topic elsewhere on the forums).

I don't know about the amps used by the In Motion system. My Gen 3 dish that runs on 12v uses around 8.5 amps or less, but the In Motion almost certainly uses more.

I wouldn't expect any problems with the Wifi signal reaching from your trailer to the cab of your truck.
JimMartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2024, 08:24 AM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
2023 23' International
Englewood , Florida
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 307
If it's permanently on the AS roof some camp sites (many?) won't work because of trees. Gen 3 is Wi-fi6 - I'm guessing the truck cab wouldn't be a problem unless you have a metal utility box. Truck mounting has it's own problems. I've read articles about people using the standard dish in motion but if they haven't yet Starlink will figure that out and use software to prevent it.
I'm still waiting for Starshine to come home from warranty repairs. Going to use a short pole mount with the house mounting from SL and the dual coax port changed to a one coax and one ethernet port.
englewoodfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2024, 09:02 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
2021 27' Globetrotter
Fort Lauderdale , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 612
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Vitaver
Ordered the In Motion dish with gen 3 router. I would install it on top of the truck, so I can use it even when not pulling the RV. Sales tells me there should not be a problem with the WiFi signal reaching into the trailer (GT27) while both the TV and RV are together, they mentioned will reach 50 feet in every direction. This way I don’t need to reach with cables into the trailer and power will come from the 2 batteries the F250 (gas) has. I hope the draw from the batteries is not so much to run then flat in less than 24 hours though. Not an expert, you can tell. Thanks for any advice!
__________________
GT 27 2021, F250 2022 Platinum- 2022 Tesla X - 2021 Ford Mustang Mach E - 2022 Tesla 3 - 2023 Tesla S Plaid. PP3 hitch. In Motion Starlink.
GSD Sigrid - Fort Lauderdale, FL; Denver and Summit County, CO.
============
Vitaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2024, 09:17 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
stevejones's Avatar
 
2019 27' Globetrotter
Litchfield Park , Arizona
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 552
In our case we use our Starlink only for the trailer while unhitched. We have the roaming plan and only turn it on when we're going to be on the road for a few weeks or more.

For the truck, our Chevy truck has a WiFi cellular capability through AT&T that I turn on through OnStar, again, when we're going to be on the road for a few weeks or more. When we get home I call OnStar and turn it off. The cellular WiFi of course only works where there is a decent AT&T signal but it is generally good enough to do zoom meetings and internet access (including accessing customer's Sharepoint sites) while rolling down the road. It can also provide a backup to Starlink if my camping spot is underneath a tree (although that means working in the truck...)
__________________
Steve Jones
2019 Globetrotter 27 FB
2018 Chevy Silverado 2500 4WD LT
stevejones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2024, 09:22 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
stevejones's Avatar
 
2019 27' Globetrotter
Litchfield Park , Arizona
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitaver View Post
Ordered the In Motion dish with gen 3 router. I would install it on top of the truck, so I can use it even when not pulling the RV. Sales tells me there should not be a problem with the WiFi signal reaching into the trailer (GT27) while both the TV and RV are together, they mentioned will reach 50 feet in every direction. This way I donít need to reach with cables into the trailer and power will come from the 2 batteries the F250 (gas) has. I hope the draw from the batteries is not so much to run then flat in less than 24 hours though. Not an expert, you can tell. Thanks for any advice!
The router does use a fair amount of juice. You may wish to get a solar generator to power the thing when you're not driving or run an extension cord from the exterior outlet on the trailer.
__________________
Steve Jones
2019 Globetrotter 27 FB
2018 Chevy Silverado 2500 4WD LT
stevejones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2024, 10:50 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
JeffKim's Avatar

 
2023 25' Globetrotter
2021 16' Bambi
Forest Lake , Minnesota
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 1,149
Quote:
I don't know about the amps used by the In Motion system. My Gen 3 dish that runs on 12v uses around 8.5 amps or less, but the In Motion almost certainly uses more.
We have Gen 2 and it uses around 40W once booted up. Is the Gen 3 more of an energy hog? I want to rationalize getting it at some point, but that's a big jump.
__________________
2023 Globetrotter 25FBT "Curly"
2017 Audi Q7 3.0T
WBCCI 6343
JeffKim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2024, 12:44 PM   #10
2 Rivet Member
 
2018 26' Flying Cloud
Fort Calhoun , NE
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevejones View Post
... The cellular WiFi of course only works where there is a decent AT&T signal but it is generally good enough to do zoom meetings and internet access (including accessing customer's Sharepoint sites) while rolling down the road. It can also provide a backup to Starlink if my camping spot is underneath a tree (although that means working in the truck...)
I also have AT&T service through my f150. I picked up a cheap ($30?) wifi repeater and I'm able to get a good signal in my trailer.
klpauba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2024, 05:58 PM   #11
2 Rivet Member
 
2023 Interstate 19
Browns Valley , California
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffKim View Post
We have Gen 2 and it uses around 40W once booted up. Is the Gen 3 more of an energy hog? I want to rationalize getting it at some point, but that's a big jump.
Gen 3 uses more power. Gen 3 uses 75-100 watts. The Gen 2 uses 50-75. The OP is getting the In motion roof mount version which uses 110-150 https://starlinkinsider.com/starlink-power-consumption/

I'm running a Gen 3 on 12v DC, powered by a 6 amp 48v step up converter.

My rationalization for the Gen 3 was storage considerations. Because of the base, the Gen 2 is bulky and takes up more space. The Gen 3 folds flat and takes up very little room.
JimMartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2024, 12:25 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
2021 27' Globetrotter
Fort Lauderdale , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 612
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Vitaver
Do I need a third battery for the Starlink?

Hi and thank you for the info and link, is very useful but neophyte as I am on this, not sure that the alternator of my F250 Platinum gas (2 batteries) will produce enough juice while driving for the truck and the Starlink using 100 to 150W. Canít drive running the generator either. Called Starlink they did not know either. Is a Gen 3 router. Any suggestions will be highly welcomed! Thanks!
__________________
GT 27 2021, F250 2022 Platinum- 2022 Tesla X - 2021 Ford Mustang Mach E - 2022 Tesla 3 - 2023 Tesla S Plaid. PP3 hitch. In Motion Starlink.
GSD Sigrid - Fort Lauderdale, FL; Denver and Summit County, CO.
============
Vitaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2024, 01:41 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
JeffKim's Avatar

 
2023 25' Globetrotter
2021 16' Bambi
Forest Lake , Minnesota
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 1,149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitaver View Post
Hi and thank you for the info and link, is very useful but neophyte as I am on this, not sure that the alternator of my F250 Platinum gas (2 batteries) will produce enough juice while driving for the truck and the Starlink using 100 to 150W. Can’t drive running the generator either. Called Starlink they did not know either. Is a Gen 3 router. Any suggestions will be highly welcomed! Thanks!
There are people here who know a lot more than I do, so take this with a grain of salt, but 100W is about 8A DC. There is some inefficiency with the inverter, so maybe it's taking 9A. The alternator puts out maybe 200A and has a lot of other loads as well, but it's not that much, so I'd think you should be good.
__________________
2023 Globetrotter 25FBT "Curly"
2017 Audi Q7 3.0T
WBCCI 6343
JeffKim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2024, 03:55 PM   #14
2 Rivet Member
 
2023 Interstate 19
Browns Valley , California
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 94
I'm not an expert on electrical, but considering how much power some subwoofers use (300-400w), I would suspect that your truck can handle the Starlink's power draw, but I don't think it would be a good idea to power the dish and router from your truck batteries while camping.
JimMartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2024, 05:31 PM   #15
Rivet Master
 
10Smiles's Avatar
 
2005 30' Classic
Kingston , Washington
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 738
As suggested earlier, I would get a Solar Generator (Goal Zero 1500X?) to power the unit. You could have it plumbed into the truck to charge it while in motion and it would be a great buffer providing the needed power for the Starlink. And you will not run down your truck batteries whenever you stop.

You could ensure it is charged from campground power when parked (or even from the trailer solar).
10Smiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2024, 06:57 PM   #16
Rivet Master
 
2023 28' International
Mercer County , New Jersey
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitaver View Post
Hi and thank you for the info and link, is very useful but neophyte as I am on this, not sure that the alternator of my F250 Platinum gas (2 batteries) will produce enough juice while driving for the truck and the Starlink using 100 to 150W. Can’t drive running the generator either. Called Starlink they did not know either. Is a Gen 3 router. Any suggestions will be highly welcomed! Thanks!
That shouldn't be a problem. The built-in inverter in my Chevy truck produces up to 400W so 150W is less than half of its capacity.
jeffb831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2024, 06:40 AM   #17
4 Rivet Member
 
2023 23' International
Englewood , Florida
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 307
Starlink

Some Starlink Gen 3 posts elsewhere put the current draw at less the advertised. When I get ours I'm going to turn off the heater option since that's absolutely I hope I never need. And you can also set an idle time so it doesn't run all night. I'm trying to avoid the F150 mounting except as a last resort even though mine has the 400W option - but it's my understanding I need to leave the truck running to prevent pushing the battery down. Supposedly the system will quit supplying 120VAC is the battery gets too low. I'll research this.
englewoodfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2024, 02:33 PM   #18
Dan & Sue Busse
 
2016 30' Classic
2019 19' Flying Cloud
Wildwood , Missouri
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 19
You have lots of options that draw very little current. Do a search by "Starlink Gen 3 without router". They refer to this as "bypass mode." Using a Pepwave or similar device, you can do this all 12 volts DC. The Cradlepoint and Pepwave devices are made to run mobile. Best part is you can use a SIM in any of these devices, and set the logic to prefer the bandwidth on the SIM if it's available. If not, revert to Starlink. That would be done all transparently to the user.

5G Store can help you with this configuration, and advise on system current draw.
dbusse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2024, 02:38 PM   #19
Dan & Sue Busse
 
2016 30' Classic
2019 19' Flying Cloud
Wildwood , Missouri
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 19
Good article here about the integration:

https://5gstore.com/blog/2023/12/20/...with-starlink/
dbusse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2024, 02:48 PM   #20
Rivet Master
 
Flagstaff , Arizona
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 696
The Starlink High Performance dish with the "In Motion" plan mounted on the back of an F-150 PowerBoost with a ProPower Onboard generator checks all the boxes. I use a 5ghz WiFi as WAN back to the Globetrotter for internet services in the Airstream. The reason this solution checks all the boxes is that you can park the Airstream under obstructions (trees) then move the F-150 around for good coverage while the Ford PowerBoost lithium battery pack continues to power the Starlink system.

I have operated this system all over the US pulling my 25' Globetrotter. It simply just works everywhere.



__________________
2022 25' GlobeTrotter FB <->2023 Ford F-150 PowerBoost 7.2kW ProPower
Electric Globetrotter
goldenchase is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2023 27FBT Intíl - PepWave & Starlink installation Airstream1817 Computers, Internet & Satellite 245 03-17-2024 02:37 PM
Starlink Installation / Experience ldavids Computers, Internet & Satellite 150 08-26-2023 07:35 AM
Newer Models Ford F250 Gas Vs. F250 Diesel Hopeful1 Tow Vehicles 138 09-15-2019 06:55 PM
New dinette table option and cabin renovation Alumitater Interior Restoration Forum 32 04-14-2015 08:54 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.