Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electronics & Connectivity > Computers, Internet & Satellite
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-03-2014, 02:01 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2014 20' Flying Cloud
1994 19' "B" Van Airstream 190
Olympia , Washington
How to make my blu-ray player work wirelessly?

I am NOT a techie by any means. We just got our 2014 20FC, we have wireless internet at our house, that the laptops pick up just fine in the AS. The Blu-ray has Netflix on it, but the only connection in the settings is for a hard-wired internet connection.

Here's the question...wait for it...

Can someone tell me what I need to buy to make the Blu-ray player pick up my wireless signal so I can watch Netflix in my driveway

I don't know if this is going to require me plugging something into the port on the front of the machine (I hope) as the back is buried in the cabinet (but then I'm sure someone can tell me if it just slides out or not...)

THANKS!
chevl66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 03:33 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2014 25' Flying Cloud
Cuddebackville , New York
It's kind of dopey that they put in a wired only internet blu-ray player. But I guess it saves a few bucks.

You'd have to put in a Roku or Apple TV or something- which is fine if you have an old one laying around. If not , I think the cheapest solution would be a new blu-ray. They are pretty cheap.

It would work in your driveway, but I've never found a campground wireless connection fast enough to support streaming movies. I never tried it, but everything else is pretty marginal, so I can't imagine it would work.
Old 06-03-2014, 04:41 PM   #3
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large