Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2021, 12:01 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
kbmwrs's Avatar
 
2016 25' International
Morgan Hill , California
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 180
stock sub woofer...no sound

2016, 25" FB International

Noticed on our trip that sub-woofer box was moving around.
Checked it and noticed that the screws holding the box were stripped out of the pressed board box of the sub-woofer.

Go to fix this and while playing music (FM) or even a DVD with symphony there is NO sound from the Sub-woofer.

RED & WHITE speaker wires ARE attached.
Black/Red/Blue wires are in quick connect which is also attached.

I checked the side of the sub-woofer box and both dials are turned up I set at +6 and still no sound.

Any suggestions on what to do?

Thanks
Mike
kbmwrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 12:21 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
2009 34' Panamerica
2005 28' Classic
Still , in the thick of it
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 543
It's been a long time since I've looked at the sub connections. If there was a way to connect a device to verify signal I would try that, also would try to connect sub to something else to see if it works.

IIRC, there is a low voltage startup that turns on the sub when the radio is on and turn it off when the radio is off. Make sure that wire is connected.

My guess is it's either that wake up/sleep wire or the sub bounced around and broke internally maybe? Like I said, it's been a good 15 years since I installed my sub and sealed it into place.
panamerican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 12:46 PM   #3
Site Team
 
wulfraat's Avatar

 
2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,263
Images: 1
stock sub woofer...no sound

Make sure subwoofer is enabled on your stereo head unit. Mine defaults to off when I disconnect trailer batteries during storage.
wulfraat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 02:11 PM   #4
4 Rivet Member
 
Cispook's Avatar

 
2020 22' Bambi
Chillicothe , Arizona
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 474
I removed ours …
Cispook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 02:36 PM   #5
2 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
Gilbert , Arizona
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 42
I've seen the sub in a 2017 25FB International. Total junk! I'd recommend removing and replacing with a 6" Bazooka tube. Should fit in the same location nicely and sound more full without booming.
AZTinCan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 02:50 PM   #6
Site Team
 
wulfraat's Avatar

 
2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,263
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cispook;
I removed ours …


I added a bigger one hahah
wulfraat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 02:51 PM   #7
3 Rivet Member
 
kbmwrs's Avatar
 
2016 25' International
Morgan Hill , California
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 180
Sorry I tried to edit my post but there is no edit icon.

I wanted to add that I checked the head unit and found the sub-woofer menu...set it at +6. No sound.
kbmwrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 02:52 PM   #8
3 Rivet Member
 
kbmwrs's Avatar
 
2016 25' International
Morgan Hill , California
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by wulfraat View Post
Make sure subwoofer is enabled on your stereo head unit. Mine defaults to off when I disconnect trailer batteries during storage.
Is this done by scrolling through the head unit menu, finding sub-woofer and setting the level?
I did do this. Nothing.
kbmwrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 02:53 PM   #9
3 Rivet Member
 
kbmwrs's Avatar
 
2016 25' International
Morgan Hill , California
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cispook View Post
I removed ours …
And this helps my situation how?
kbmwrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 02:55 PM   #10
3 Rivet Member
 
2020 23' Globetrotter
Savoy , Texas
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 169
Images: 1
Our subwoofer has a in line fuse. It’s located in the same area as the speaker.
SpinWhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 03:04 PM   #11
Site Team
 
wulfraat's Avatar

 
2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,263
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmwrs;
Is this done by scrolling through the head unit menu, finding sub-woofer and setting the level?

I did do this. Nothing.


What head unit do you have? I remember on the clarion that came stock with my 2017 the setting was not easy to find.
wulfraat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 03:51 PM   #12
3 Rivet Member
 
kbmwrs's Avatar
 
2016 25' International
Morgan Hill , California
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpinWhite View Post
Our subwoofer has a in line fuse. It’s located in the same area as the speaker.

Checked and good.
kbmwrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 03:52 PM   #13
3 Rivet Member
 
kbmwrs's Avatar
 
2016 25' International
Morgan Hill , California
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by wulfraat View Post
What head unit do you have? I remember on the clarion that came stock with my 2017 the setting was not easy to find.

Sorry I tried to edit my post but there is no edit icon.

I wanted to add that I checked the head unit (CLARION as you have) and found the sub-woofer menu...set it at +6. No sound.
kbmwrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 04:45 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
Mollysdad's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Tampa , Florida
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6,074
Blog Entries: 1
Subwoofers need 1. power, 2. signal.
Should be fairly easy to test and see if it's getting power.
Checking signal might be more challenging, you'd need a small speaker, and a test signal to check the input to the sub.
If you have power but no signal, work your way back to the radio and try to determine where it got lost.
The radio is not mentioned in the manual, so you should have separate radio instructions.


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmwrs View Post
Sorry I tried to edit my post but there is no edit icon.
There's only 30 minutes to edit.
Mollysdad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 04:52 PM   #15
Rivet Master
 
turk123's Avatar

 
2019 30' Classic
Canfield , Ohio
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2,493
Images: 1
Well, I do not have an answer for you but if it is your subwoofer that has failed, I will sell you my Bazooka 8" powered sub for half of what I paid on Amazon! I paid 239.99. I will even cover half of the shipping. It is far superior to the one supplied by Airstream.

That said, you could find a small speaker and hook it up to see if it is supplying power or signal to the sub. If yours is the boxy type speaker that Airstream has been using for years, take a few screws out of the cabinet and see if the wires have come off of the speaker. If I remember, that thing was so cheap it use to buzz and vibrate so bad that it could have shaken the wires off.

When I sold the trailer I put back the original sub not knowing that the Classic 30 had a decent sub. I no longer need the Bazooka. One caveat though. I won't be back in Ohio until the end of August to ship it.

I just realized that you are from Morgan Hill California. I'm camped there at Coyote RV resort! Small world.
__________________
x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\101970\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\/x\x/x\x/x
Tom & Doty
2019 Airstream Classic 30 Twin


Link to our shared album: https://photos.app.goo.gl/wACfGg1KcroVLP5m6
turk123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2021, 10:18 AM   #16
3 Rivet Member
 
kbmwrs's Avatar
 
2016 25' International
Morgan Hill , California
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 180
Thanks for your offer and suggestion. I will check the speaker itself inside.
kbmwrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2021, 07:33 PM   #17
3 Rivet Member
 
kbmwrs's Avatar
 
2016 25' International
Morgan Hill , California
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 180
Turk123 suggested the simple fix...and it worked.
took the box apart and the black speaker wire was off.

All works now.

Thank you
kbmwrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finally replaced that crummy factory sub woofer.... wulfraat Audio, Video & TV 6 09-05-2020 04:17 PM
Does my International have a sub-woofer? etojeo 2016 - Current International 4 08-12-2020 01:41 PM
Polk audio quality / Sub woofer turk123 2016 - Current Classic (all lengths) 20 03-13-2020 12:08 PM
Sub woofer not working paul.kukstis 2016 - Current Classic (all lengths) 9 06-01-2018 02:43 PM
Sub-woofer needs delay circuit M&M CAPECOD Audio, Video & TV 9 05-22-2005 01:52 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.