RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2009, 03:35 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
Stream 1529's Avatar
 
2004 34' Classic S/O
San Antonio , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 294
Images: 19
No antenna signal with digital TV

We have a 2003 Sony digital TV which is factory installed. We also had the factory install a dome king dish on the roof. On our last two trips out we've had problems acquiring a satellite signal. Our service provider told us we were receiving a signal, it just wasn't getting to the receiver. We also could not get reception using the antenna with the boost on. On our last stop on the way home we hooked up to the RV Park's cable, after not getting a satellite signal again. Once the cable was hooked up we had satellite reception as well - I forgot to check to see if we could get reception using the antenna.

As we have all learned, the Factory makes a good trailer but they don't know squat about electronics. My question is could this be a problem in the switch box, or do I need to look for another problem? With over 50 days of 100+ days so far here in Texas, we aren't looking to camp any time before October. Then we'll test the antenna, cable, and satellite once again.

_________Tom
__________________
Blog: www.travelpod.com/members/wbcci1529
'04 34' Classic S/O lounge, dome king, twin a/c, faux fireplace to keep the wife warm , equa-li-zer, prodigy, 4 birds, dog - no kids allowed!

'05 Excursion 4x4, 6.0 PSD, magnaflow, helwig anti-sway, air lift springs.
Stream 1529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 04:00 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 7,064
Images: 12
To receive a signal off your roof top antenna you need a digital converter box as of June of this year.

As far as the satellite is concerned there has been no change. If your selector box is set to satellite and your antenna is aimed at the satellite and you have tuned in a signal with the satellite set up system you should have complete satellite programing. Hooking up to campground cable should have no effect on satellite coverage. In fact they are 2 different selections on the selector box.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 04:04 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member
 
Astroboy's Avatar
 
2007 28' International CCD
West Hollywood , California
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 141
Bad news: Digital TV signals don't reach as far as the analog predecessor. Plus, campgrounds usually are located far away from the urban center (or the signal towers).

At a campground I stayed over this summer, I used get signals from all the stations at one site, but when a better space (only a few hundreds feet away, shaded by trees, better views) became available and I moved, I then no longer receive signals from majority of the stations.

Good news: when you do receive signals, the picture and audio quality are crisp and clear.

Check out Wineguard Wingman (I haven't tried it yet, perhaps waiting for something better)

Winegard Wingman - Item - Camping World
http://www.airforums.com/forums/f450...man-48742.html
Astroboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 04:07 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
Mike Leary's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
1984 31' Airstream310
Ajo , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 7,649
Images: 4
We bought a new tv. Works fine without satellite or anything more than a small antenna.
Mike Leary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 09:05 AM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
Stream 1529's Avatar
 
2004 34' Classic S/O
San Antonio , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 294
Images: 19
Thanks for the input guys. I thought that as long as I had a digital TV that the original antenna would work. The distance from the broadcast towers may have been a factor, though. We were camping on the banks of the Mississippi on the Arkansas side and the towers were somewhere on the Tennessee side around Memphis, but we had clear skies and no trees to speak of close by.

The satellite still puzzles me. The dish will lock onto a signal, but is unable to relay to the receiver - except for an error message. Then I go out and hook up to the Park's cable, and when I get back inside there's my satellite reception. This is what still has me thinking that there is a problem with the switch box - kind of like a short in a wire.

I'll look into replacing the antenna, but I'm not sure I'd need a converter box when I have a digital TV.

Thanks again.

________Tom
__________________
Blog: www.travelpod.com/members/wbcci1529
'04 34' Classic S/O lounge, dome king, twin a/c, faux fireplace to keep the wife warm , equa-li-zer, prodigy, 4 birds, dog - no kids allowed!

'05 Excursion 4x4, 6.0 PSD, magnaflow, helwig anti-sway, air lift springs.
Stream 1529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 09:25 AM   #6
Site Team
 
Aage's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11,219
Images: 25
Tom,

This statement confuses me: "Our service provider told us we were receiving a signal, it just wasn't getting to the receiver."

How can they say you are receiving a signal if the receiver isn't getting it? Did they hook up a different receiver to the antenna? Your antenna may well lock onto a signal, but it may or may NOT be the channel that your satellite service provider is sending for you...

Also, your 2003 Sony TV: have you been able to receive digital signals without one of those converters in another set-up? Not all digital TVs have a Digital tuner, IMHO, and 2003 was early days for that technology, I think. Look for ATSC and /or QAM capabilities in your owner's manual.

However, the fact that connecting the park cable turns other things on leads me to go along with your assessment that something relatively simple may be bad in your connections. Maybe just a bad or missing ground somewhere.
__________________
“Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway.”
...John Wayne...........................
Aage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 09:59 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
Antique Pedaler's Avatar
 
2010 25' FB Flying Cloud
Currently Looking...
Laramie , Wyoming
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 810
Images: 11
Blog Entries: 1
Right now, we're in Salida, CO and receive digital CH 13 from Colo. Spgs. 100 miles away. What I don' get is I also receive 3 Denver stations, 160 miles away, on analog, a little snowy, but viewable. We're using only the factory Winegard antenea.
__________________
Antique Pedaler
'10 Flying Cloud FB
'05 GMC Pickup,
WBCCI # 4181 VAC member
Antique Pedaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 10:04 AM   #8
3 Rivet Member
 
Utahgoldrup's Avatar

 
1991 25' Excella
2005 16' International CCD
2012 27' FB International
Salt Lake City , Utah
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 100
We bought a new tv this year, an LCD Digital TV but id does have a digital receiver built into it, using the old antenna on the trailer we receive digital broadcasts just fine, a converter box is not needed unless your TV does not have a digital receiver.
Utahgoldrup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 10:46 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
76sovereign's Avatar
 
1976 31' Sovereign
ozark , Missouri
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,040
Images: 28
Blog Entries: 3
Did you do a scan for your TV for local channels?
76sovereign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 11:41 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
SilverRanger's Avatar
 
2005 19' Safari
1968 24' Tradewind
Rural , Delaware
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,476
I get 3 more digital channels with my batwing on the Bambi in my yard than I get with the new antenna I have affixed 38 ft. up an oak tree. The tree mounted antenna has a rotator and a clear shot to the majority of the local stations, and the batwing is on the opposite side of the house. It's always been that way, even before I upgraded the antenna up the tree.

Go figure.
__________________
2005 Bambi
1968 Trade Wind
2007 Ford F250 4x4 Crew
WDCU
SilverRanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 11:45 AM   #11
4 Rivet Member
 
Stream 1529's Avatar
 
2004 34' Classic S/O
San Antonio , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 294
Images: 19
[quote=Aage;737454]Tom,

This statement confuses me: "Our service provider told us we were receiving a signal, it just wasn't getting to the receiver."

How can they say you are receiving a signal if the receiver isn't getting it? Did they hook up a different receiver to the antenna? Your antenna may well lock onto a signal, but it may or may NOT be the channel that your satellite service provider is sending for you...

Also, your 2003 Sony TV: have you been able to receive digital signals without one of those converters in another set-up? Not all digital TVs have a Digital tuner, IMHO, and 2003 was early days for that technology, I think. Look for ATSC and /or QAM capabilities in your owner's manual.

Aage,

My provider is Direct TV. The Dome King is programmed to search for D TV satellite signals. After it locked on it would display an error message. I contacted D TV and they would confirm that a signal was being transmitted to my receiver, and that I should be receiving the transmission. I don't understand the "how's" of it anymore than how I can talk to our daughter on the phone with her in China. Both are just magic that I just accept.

I'll get out the manual for the Sony and confirm the set is digital or analog.

Thanks.

________Tom
__________________
Blog: www.travelpod.com/members/wbcci1529
'04 34' Classic S/O lounge, dome king, twin a/c, faux fireplace to keep the wife warm , equa-li-zer, prodigy, 4 birds, dog - no kids allowed!

'05 Excursion 4x4, 6.0 PSD, magnaflow, helwig anti-sway, air lift springs.
Stream 1529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 11:47 AM   #12
4 Rivet Member
 
Stream 1529's Avatar
 
2004 34' Classic S/O
San Antonio , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 294
Images: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by 76sovereign View Post
Did you do a scan for your TV for local channels?
Yes, with no results.
__________________
Blog: www.travelpod.com/members/wbcci1529
'04 34' Classic S/O lounge, dome king, twin a/c, faux fireplace to keep the wife warm , equa-li-zer, prodigy, 4 birds, dog - no kids allowed!

'05 Excursion 4x4, 6.0 PSD, magnaflow, helwig anti-sway, air lift springs.
Stream 1529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 12:57 PM   #13
3 Rivet Member
 
lynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 239
The regular Sensar antena on your 2004 Classic will receive digital signals and does not need changed(you can add a Batwing extension). Your Original Sony TV would not be digtal ready and does need a convertor box to convert your signal.
lynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 12:58 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 7,064
Images: 12
Directv has started a shut down on the receiver card if the TV has not been used for a couple of weeks. If you are getting an error message when you first go on satellite you may have to call them to reinstate the card. I have this and it is a pain in the ass. Not sure why cable could kick start the Directv.

As for your TV I would call the manufacture with the serial number in hand and ask if that TV has a digital tuner in it. Like I said above I doubt it.

There is no reason to buy a new antenna with the current problems. You may want one latter depending on the distance you are from the local stations. The NEW SIGNAL does not travel as far as the old analog signal. This fraud was to sell cable and satellite and get lost of money for the government from the sale of the old bandwidth. It had nothing to do with quality of service to the public.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 01:34 PM   #15
2 Rivet Member
 
astewart's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Stoney Creek , Ontario
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 42
Images: 9
Digital channels are transmitted in the "old" UHF range and as such are line of sight only. Analog transmissions are VHF and had a much longer range.

On the sat signal, I would check the connections from the reciever to the TV (and make sure you have the TV set to the right input!).

Good luck,
Alex
astewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 09:22 PM   #16
Site Team
 
Aage's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11,219
Images: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverRanger View Post
The tree mounted antenna has a rotator and a clear shot to the majority of the local stations, and the batwing is on the opposite side of the house.
Your tree needs upgrading
__________________
“Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway.”
...John Wayne...........................
Aage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 09:24 PM   #17
Site Team
 
Aage's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11,219
Images: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stream 1529 View Post
Aage,

My provider is Direct TV. The Dome King is programmed to search for D TV satellite signals. After it locked on it would display an error message. I contacted D TV and they would confirm that a signal was being transmitted to my receiver, and that I should be receiving the transmission. I don't understand the "how's" of it anymore than how I can talk to our daughter on the phone with her in China. Both are just magic that I just accept.

I'll get out the manual for the Sony and confirm the set is digital or analog.

Thanks.

________Tom
OK, I get it now, you have one of those "smart" antennas. Don't know about pricing of those in the US, but up here the one I saw, the dealer wanted ~C$1,500.

I'll stay dumb for that much
__________________
“Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway.”
...John Wayne...........................
Aage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 09:40 AM   #18
4 Rivet Member
 
Stream 1529's Avatar
 
2004 34' Classic S/O
San Antonio , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 294
Images: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by HowieE View Post
Directv has started a shut down on the receiver card if the TV has not been used for a couple of weeks. If you are getting an error message when you first go on satellite you may have to call them to reinstate the card. I have this and it is a pain in the ass. Not sure why cable could kick start the Directv.
I'm very familiar with the error message you're talking about. I should be on a first name basis with the D TV people who have reinstated the card over the past 5 years for me.

The only thought I could come up with to explain the cable thing is that there is a problem with the switch box.

Thanks to everyone for their input.


_______Tom
__________________
Blog: www.travelpod.com/members/wbcci1529
'04 34' Classic S/O lounge, dome king, twin a/c, faux fireplace to keep the wife warm , equa-li-zer, prodigy, 4 birds, dog - no kids allowed!

'05 Excursion 4x4, 6.0 PSD, magnaflow, helwig anti-sway, air lift springs.
Stream 1529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 06:52 PM   #19
Rivet Master
 
76sovereign's Avatar
 
1976 31' Sovereign
ozark , Missouri
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,040
Images: 28
Blog Entries: 3
Anyone having this problem with Dish Network?
76sovereign is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best antenna for digital TV Lumatic Audio, Video & TV 14 01-18-2009 10:27 AM
Turn Signal Problem tphillips Lights - Interior & Exterior 4 01-04-2009 05:20 PM
Digital TV and Batwing Antenna jcanavera Audio, Video & TV 16 02-12-2008 08:09 PM
tv signal booster joel Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 4 08-24-2006 12:05 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.