RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2015, 09:22 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
Bend , Oregon
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Cable Question

Hi,

I'm trying to figure out how to post on your Forum. I have a question about our TV. We are out on our first big trip, and altho we are able to get a couple local channels on air, we are unable to get anything clear on cable. We went out and bought a new HD TV cable, still no change. Trailer is new, TV a Samsung, and yes I left the paperwork at home. Thought someone else out there might have some clues.

Thanks,
Dawnie
Dawnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 09:30 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
AWCHIEF's Avatar
 
2006 23' Safari SE
Biloxi , Mississippi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,278
Images: 33
Welcome, Have you selected the proper input on your TV set up page?
__________________
MICHAEL

Do you know what a learning experience is? A learning experience is one of those things that says "You know that thing that you just did? Don't do that."
AWCHIEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 09:46 AM   #3
2 Rivet Member
 
Stream'n's Avatar
 
2014 27' Flying Cloud
Lexington , Oklahoma
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 31
Dawnie,

When we bought our new A/S a year ago I couldn't receive anything on cable either. Just static. Read through the TV and A/S manuals with no help. At the last KOA we stayed, even had the maintenance man check their cable plug to make sure it worked. I finally gave up and was starting to roll up the cable cord when one of those weird thoughts flashed through my mind. Try plugging it in to the satellite plug. I did and instant cable reception on the TV ! It appears the Cable and Satellite plugs got reversed during installation. Next trip in for warranty work I'll have it fixed. Might try it on yours.

Safe travels!
-Wes-
Stream'n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 09:47 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
Al and Missy's Avatar

 
2002 30' Classic S/O
Melbourne Beach , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4,166
IF your trailer (newer) is like mine, there is a button on the plate where the TV connects or on another plate somewhere in the trailer that must be pressed so that the green LED is OFF. That switches the TV from the antenna (LED ON) to cable (LED OFF). Then you must use the menu system in your TV to scan for channels. There is an option in the scan menus to choose between antenna and cable. Most cable systems require that to be set for cable but some small private systems do not.

Al
__________________
“You cannot reason someone out of a position they have not been reasoned into"
Al, K5TAN and Missy, N4RGO WBCCI 1322
2002 Classic 30 Slideout -S/OS #004
2013 Dodge 2500 Laramie 4x4 Megacab Cummins
Al and Missy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 10:47 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
urnmor's Avatar
 
2012 25' Flying Cloud
Berlin , Maryland
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,514
I had never used cable until our last trip earlier this month. I attached the cable to the cmground cable box then to the airstream box. Turned on the TV went to menu chosed cable as my mode searched for channels. It worked great.
urnmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 05:50 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
daveswenson's Avatar
 
2012 28' International
Issaquah , Washington
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 773
What Al said. A few years back the plate was under the dinette. That's where I would look first.
__________________
Dave

2014 Ram 2500 CTD
Pro Pride
Centramatics
daveswenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 07:16 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
urnmor's Avatar
 
2012 25' Flying Cloud
Berlin , Maryland
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,514
I should have said in my earlier thread that I attached the cable wire only to the campsite cable and the outside cable connector on the AS. The one I used is just below the electrical connector on the door side. I did not have to change or run any new cables to the TV inside the AS. Nor did I have to turn on the little plug to helps you bring in regular TV. I did have to change the mode from air to cable on the TV itself.
urnmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 03:00 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
AStreamNerds's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Manassas , Virginia
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 562
Images: 6
This past weekend we had the same problem as the OP. It was the first time we tried to connect to a cable signal and it would not work. The KOA staff brought over a separate TV to make sure that the signal worked and it did. I also had the aha moment to try the SAT input on the outside jack and that did not work at all. I am not aware of any button or anything of that nature to push in order to make the cable work but I never got it to do anything but pick up a few over the air channels through the antenna. I plan to have that added to my warranty punch list items - something is not connected somewhere.

I am in the A/V industry so I know about inputs and how to configure the equipment and I am at a loss unless I pull out some testing gear to check continuity. Since television is not that important to us I am not wanting to go through the extra effort to figure it out - only reason we tried to hook it up was because this was the first campground with a cable signal we have camped at.
__________________
Our Website: https://airstreamnerds.com/

You Tube Channel "Airstream Nerds": https://www.youtube.com/airstreamnerds

Find Us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AirstreamNerd/
AStreamNerds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 06:42 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
sheriff1's Avatar
 
2012 27' FB Eddie Bauer
Sparks , Nevada
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 888
Look for a small black button where the catv is located in the unit. Push on / off. Light off is for catv, on is for antenna.


2015 F350 CC 4X4 6.7 Diesel
2010 27FB Silver Cloud "The Silver Spoon"
sheriff1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 08:29 PM   #10
3 Rivet Member
 
malinois38's Avatar
 
2008 28' International
Happy Valley , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 248
Had the same problem for the last year in my 2008 International. while camping last weekend, I found an old post on AF's and fixed it right up.
On the back of my Samsung TV, all I had to do was switch the cable wire to the Cable Input!
Hope this helps.
malinois38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 08:38 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
AStreamNerds's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Manassas , Virginia
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 562
Images: 6
OK - after careful searching under the dinette, in the AV cabinet with the bluray player, and anywhere else I could think to look here is what I found.

This is for the 2015 Flying Cloud 25FB. I have two TV's. The TV in the rear has the cable TV connection above and to the right of the screen so you can easily see it. The only thing there is the F-connector and a pass through port for the other cables to the TV. So I went to the front TV and the cable TV connection is to the left and behind the TV . On that jack next to the F-connector is a very little black button that has a green LCD lit - you cannot see it unless you are looking for it and the light is not bright enough to give a green glow when it is dark. I cannot test here at home but my light is on which would be why I did not get any CATV connection last weekend at KOA.

So before any of you others give up - look at the connections behind or beside the TV's and one of them may have the little black button that enables CATV. Very poorly documented in the manuals - shame on you Airstream!
__________________
Our Website: https://airstreamnerds.com/

You Tube Channel "Airstream Nerds": https://www.youtube.com/airstreamnerds

Find Us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AirstreamNerd/
AStreamNerds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 08:39 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
AStreamNerds's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Manassas , Virginia
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 562
Images: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by malinois38 View Post
Had the same problem for the last year in my 2008 International. while camping last weekend, I found an old post on AF's and fixed it right up.
On the back of my Samsung TV, all I had to do was switch the cable wire to the Cable Input!
Hope this helps.
There is only one coax connector on the newer model TV's
__________________
Our Website: https://airstreamnerds.com/

You Tube Channel "Airstream Nerds": https://www.youtube.com/airstreamnerds

Find Us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AirstreamNerd/
AStreamNerds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 08:56 PM   #13
4 Rivet Member
 
BassCan's Avatar
 
2014 27' FB Eddie Bauer
Mobile , Alabama
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 318
Blog Entries: 1
Hi, we had the same problem the frist time we tried to hook up to cable in our 2014 EB. An more experienced camper had more of a clue.
He had us press the button that enables the antena to work located behind the TV in the living area. This button disable input from the antena and allowed the cable signal to dominate. Then we configured the channels. And everything worked.
Hope this helps
BassCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 09:17 AM   #14
1 Rivet Member
 
Bend , Oregon
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
I feel silly, I cannot find where to post a new thread ?? ;/
Dawnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 02:47 PM   #15
Rivet Master
 
AStreamNerds's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Manassas , Virginia
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 562
Images: 6
Go into the section you want to post a new thread in but not in a thread itself. There is a button on the right that says "NEW THREAD"...good luck
__________________
Our Website: https://airstreamnerds.com/

You Tube Channel "Airstream Nerds": https://www.youtube.com/airstreamnerds

Find Us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AirstreamNerd/
AStreamNerds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 10:49 PM   #16
1 Rivet Member
 
Bend , Oregon
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
New Thread

I'm looking and I don't see where I an able to post a new thread ???
Dawnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 11:54 PM   #17
Rivet Master
 
AStreamNerds's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Manassas , Virginia
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 562
Images: 6
Airstream Forums - Post New Thread

Try the above link
__________________
Our Website: https://airstreamnerds.com/

You Tube Channel "Airstream Nerds": https://www.youtube.com/airstreamnerds

Find Us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AirstreamNerd/
AStreamNerds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 11:54 PM   #18
Rivet Master
 
Foiled Again's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawnie View Post
I feel silly, I cannot find where to post a new thread ?? ;/
Click on the FORUMS tab,

Pick the appropriate forum or sub-forum for your post, then you'll see a box at the top left "start new thread". Click that.
__________________
Today is a gift, that's why they call it the present.
Foiled Again is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 10:42 AM   #19
New Member
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Mosier , Oregon
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4
So if you are at a park that has cable and has TV reception via the antenna, is it possible by some means to receive both signals simultaneously? Is their a different aftermarket booster that allows for this rather than playing with the booster button and doing another channel scan every time you switch from cable to antenna?
GorgeGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 12:42 PM   #20
Rivet Master
 
Al and Missy's Avatar

 
2002 30' Classic S/O
Melbourne Beach , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4,166
Generally apeaking, no. Cable systems use different channel schemes than off-air so you have to select one or the other to do a scan. I once had a TV that would do multiple scans without clearing the existing results. If I wanted to clear the results there was a button for that. But in that case you might get two stations on the same channel (there are some overlaps between air channels and cable channels) and would not be able to receive either.

Some TVs have multiple inputs, one for cable and one for antenna. If you had one of those you could rewire the trailer (or maybe the new trailers have that capability).

Al
__________________
“You cannot reason someone out of a position they have not been reasoned into"
Al, K5TAN and Missy, N4RGO WBCCI 1322
2002 Classic 30 Slideout -S/OS #004
2013 Dodge 2500 Laramie 4x4 Megacab Cummins
Al and Missy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coax Cable for Outside Cable Connection Frank&Mike Audio, Video & TV 7 12-17-2012 09:16 AM
Question about the Porter Cable random orbital Eagle & Bear Cleaning, Stripping & Polishing 3 12-01-2012 08:08 AM
1970 31ft sovereign international battery cable question travalota Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 1 09-27-2011 07:53 PM
Another Newb Question-Power Cable? jambie 2005 and newer - Bambi all models 1 03-08-2011 10:24 AM
Cable tv question TexasStars Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 4 10-23-2003 05:35 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.