Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-01-2014, 09:32 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1971 25' Tradewind
Richardson , TX
Power Inverter For Residential Refrigerator

Can anyone explain to me the set up for a power inverter to run a residential refrigerator?

By way of background, I will want to run the refrigerator off the 12v through the inverter while traveling but be able to switch to standard 110v when I get to my destination. Would I have to unplug the refrigerator from the inverter and plug it into the standard 110v outlet or is there an inverter that will stop "inverting" once the system is connected to the 30amp service at the campground?

Relative newbie here, so use small words and lots of them. Pictures help too since I am visually minded.

Thanks.
jbwillingham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 10:09 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
I will try.

First, you will need an inverter which has enough capacity for the refrigerator load. There are two parts to the load, the starting load and the running load. Then there are two kinds of inverters, pure sine wave and modified sine wave.

A refrigerator may run just fine on a modified sine wave inverter (MSW), but it probably will not be as efficient, and it is hard to tell if the compressor will be harmed by the somewhat strange waveform that they produce. MSW inverters are considerably less expensive than pure sine wave inverters (PSW), although the difference is decreasing. Today, in general, I recommend you use a PSW type of inverter, but you may find the price difference pushes you to the MSW type.

A small residential type refrigerator will probably have an actual running wattage of 150 to 200 watts but the starting wattage will be considerably higher, in the range of 800 to 1000 watts. (I am generalizing here but probably will not be too far off).