Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2019, 06:47 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
2006 31' Classic
Youngsville , Louisiana
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 19
Wiring inverter to 30amp panel

Looking for advice on how/ where to run 110 wires from shore power
to inverter and back to main. We have a 31' classic 2006 with the charge controller, batteries and inverter under the sofa in the front. Would greatly appreciate it anyone has done this and can advise.
Barnbridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 07:12 PM   #2
Site Team
 
wulfraat's Avatar

 
2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,263
Images: 1
Wiring inverter to 30amp panel

What are you trying to accomplish? Do you want all branches of your panel hot with inverter power or only certain branches? Do you have a passthrough and / or hybrid inverter? What equipment are you looking to install? Transfer switch in the mix?

More details needed for advice
wulfraat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 07:21 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member
 
2006 31' Classic
Youngsville , Louisiana
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 19
We have 30 amp service so the entire panel will be hot. It's a Victron 3000 watt multiplus hybrid inverter.
Barnbridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 04:58 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
gklott's Avatar
 
2004 30' Classic
Johnson City , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 590
Images: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barnbridge View Post
Looking for advice on how/ where to run 110 wires from shore power to inverter and back to main. We have a 31' classic 2006 with the charge controller, batteries and inverter under the sofa in the front. Would greatly appreciate it anyone has done this and can advise. We have 30 amp service so the entire panel will be hot. It's a Victron 3000 watt multiplus hybrid inverter.
Believe you have the same rear compartment, street side power cord entry as we had in our 2004 30' Classic.

There is no "easy", hidden way to run new AC wiring inside from the street side rear power cord entry, past your bedroom, bathroom, shower, water heater, fridge, and credenza to the front under the sofa to the Victron - AND - new AC wiring back to your existing power panel in the rear. All the hidden spaces were jammed with AC and DC wiring.

You will likely need to remove the underneath panels and run a new conduit and wiring from front to rear.

For our AC power upgrade, we installed a new SmartPlug inlet and new AC panel just forward of the wheel well. Even if you have room without cabinet modifications, running the wiring along the street side will still be an issue.

Also,

Quote:
Originally Posted by wulfraat View Post
What are you trying to accomplish? Do you want all branches of your panel hot with inverter power or only certain branches? Do you have a passthrough and / or hybrid inverter? What equipment are you looking to install? Transfer switch in the mix?
wulfraat is right. You have lots more to consider on both the AC and DC power sides. For example. what AC circuits will be on the Victron's no-break side and the auxiliary side (A/C and water heater)? Do you have adequate space and ventilation under the front sofa?

73/gus
__________________
Gus - KR4K : Mary - K5MCL
2004 30ft. Classic
2017 Infiniti QX80 Limited
ProPride 3P/Prodigy P3
gklott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 05:56 AM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
Fort Davis , Texas
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 257
You are not just talking about adding an inverter. You're installing a Hybrid Inverter/Charger, which means your entire power system design will change.

That includes trashing your existing Converter and rewiring most of the AC and DC power conductors.
Below is a schematic which shows one way to do it.

Pat


pdavitt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 07:35 AM   #6
4 Rivet Member
 
Kvsterling's Avatar
 
West Chester , Ohio
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdavitt View Post
You are not just talking about adding an inverter. You're installing a Hybrid Inverter/Charger, which means your entire power system design will change.

That includes trashing your existing Converter and rewiring most of the AC and DC power conductors.
Below is a schematic which shows one way to do it.

Pat




This schematic represents a plan I could use in my rebuild. I was hoping to use the progressive dynamics power center (ac and dc panels with built in converter) and think the dc power to the converter could be wired to allow switching and control like you illustrated.

I’m wondering about the gfdi you included: Why was there a resister added to the ground circuit? And is this an all-in-1 component you have used, or would one need to add the resistor to the gfdi circuit?
Kvsterling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 07:48 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
DaveP's Avatar

 
2004 28' Classic
Monument , Colorado
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,172
I did this with my 2004 Classic 28. I ran the wires under the bed, then under the bathroom cabinets, and then under the kitchen cabinets (all on the driver side). Under the microwave cabinet, I found an 1 1/2 inch conduit that went to the front driver side corner under the couch. If you want more information, just let me know.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Barnbridge View Post
Looking for advice on how/ where to run 110 wires from shore power
to inverter and back to main. We have a 31' classic 2006 with the charge controller, batteries and inverter under the sofa in the front. Would greatly appreciate it anyone has done this and can advise.
__________________
DaveP
2004 Airstream Classic 28 "Willard"
2014 Ford F150 FX4 Ecoboost
DaveP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 07:53 AM   #8
4 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
Fort Davis , Texas
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 257
The GFDI is there to turn off power to the Charge Controller if there is a problem with the PV input. The resistor is a bypass so the DC Negative to Ground bond remains after the the power breaker trips.


Pat


Edit: I found a manual for a GFDI, see below:
pdavitt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 08:37 AM   #9
1 Rivet Member
 
2006 31' Classic
Youngsville , Louisiana
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 19
Thanks Dave. I would appreciate any info you can provide I'm pretty sure I you e a route from front to rear for wiring via info I found on Facebook group from someone with the same pathways ours. I just checked it out and looks totally doable but would love advice regarding g the wiring.
Barnbridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 09:34 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
DaveP's Avatar

 
2004 28' Classic
Monument , Colorado
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,172
Barnbridge,

I have attached some documents showing my system that I did for someone else, so it is probably more than you wanted. This shows how I laid out my whole system. It also shows where I found the conduit. Let me know if you have any questions. Good luck!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Barnbridge View Post
Thanks Dave. I would appreciate any info you can provide I'm pretty sure I you e a route from front to rear for wiring via info I found on Facebook group from someone with the same pathways ours. I just checked it out and looks totally doable but would love advice regarding g the wiring.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Electrical Diagram.pdf (1.00 MB, 56 views)
__________________
DaveP
2004 Airstream Classic 28 "Willard"
2014 Ford F150 FX4 Ecoboost
DaveP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 07:14 PM   #11
1 Rivet Member
 
2006 31' Classic
Youngsville , Louisiana
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 19
Thaanks!!!
Looks great
Barnbridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 05:25 AM   #12
4 Rivet Member
 
Kvsterling's Avatar
 
West Chester , Ohio
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 297
Thank you Pat! Keeping the negative lead in the solar circuit makes sense

I continue to be amazed (and grateful) for the experience and expertise found here!!!
Kvsterling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 09:21 AM   #13
Rivet Master
 
gklott's Avatar
 
2004 30' Classic
Johnson City , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 590
Images: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveP View Post
Barnbridge, I have attached some documents showing my system that I did for someone else, so it is probably more than you wanted. This shows how I laid out my whole system. It also shows where I found the conduit. Let me know if you have any questions. Good luck!
Thanks for sharing the document. Looks like a nicely done process. I too found the conduits, but ours had wires in both - DC bundle in one and two AC NM-B in the other. As expected, we were unable to fish through another AC wire through without first pulling out the other two.



There was also a DC wire pair not connected to anything. When I wrote AS about it, including pictures, they had no idea what the wires were for - except for saying it must be from a different configuration. It was energized, and left coiled up in the floor. Watch for those possibilities.

Was that conduit empty in yours? I noticed you ran individual wires, not a NM-B cable. What wire type did you run?

73/gus
__________________
Gus - KR4K : Mary - K5MCL
2004 30ft. Classic
2017 Infiniti QX80 Limited
ProPride 3P/Prodigy P3
gklott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 11:31 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
DaveP's Avatar

 
2004 28' Classic
Monument , Colorado
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,172
Hi Gus,

My conduit had only one 12-gauge Romex (NM-B) wire in it for a front outlet, so I had plenty of room. I ran 10-gauge individual wires (hot, neutral, ground) with 7 strands per wire as this was more flexible and easier to pull under the cabinets and through conduit. It was standard type household wire from Home Depot. I protected it, where needed, with spiral wrap. The individual wires run cooler, so it can carry more amps. I also ran the telephone cable for the Magnum remote in the conduit. The PO had already run one 10-gauge wire in conduit on the bottom of the trailer back to the main panel, so I utilized it for part of the circuit.

If I did this again, I learned from Lewster that I should use marine grade stranded wire for the AC circuits as these are capable of more reliable terminations than solid wire. Marine grade stranded wire is also much more flexible.

Let me know if you have any questions.
__________________
DaveP
2004 Airstream Classic 28 "Willard"
2014 Ford F150 FX4 Ecoboost
DaveP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a 30AMP 240v provide 2 30AMP 120v?? VeggieBullet Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 17 05-29-2013 09:28 PM
powerlines, 30amp vrs 50 amp skip Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 21 01-22-2004 11:31 PM
30amp to 50amp? alfalsetto Airstream Motorhome Forums 17 08-16-2003 06:42 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.