Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2024, 06:58 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
2016 30' International
Florence , Alabama
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 519
Victron overload AC output

Posted a while back about our initial gremlins that have developed over the course of 6 months. The big one was our Victron inverter giving an AC output overload error and shutting down the AC output that developed suddenly. Now I knew there was no overload or short because connected to shore power no fuses were blowing and everything worked. But shifting to battery power and it shut down. I suspected a loose wire but itís tight space to work in and all of them passed the tug test. So I returned to the dealer and they decided it was a bad inverter and sent for warrant approval from AS. We have a big summer trip planned so as that got closer I just ordered an identical unit from BlueMarine and figured it wouldnít hurt to have a spare on hand. Now that travel day is nearly upon us I pulled the original unit and swapped in the new one. The furthest (ie last) connection was AC out. Still felt secure, but as I disengaged the spring cage terminals I found the center (ground) was LOOSE! So basically the 10/2 (I think) solid copper AC wire was secured on the line and neutral connections (right and left) but the ground in the center had popped loose. With the stiffness of the wire and the fact that the outer 2 were secure it felt like all 3 were solid.

Now since Iíd already unhooked everything I went ahead and swapped in new unit, but Iím confident that this was the real issue.
joshjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2024, 09:26 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member
 
2024 25' Trade Wind
Bothell , Washington
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 265
Good job. Safe travels.

Chuck
__________________
Chuck & Yvonne
2024 Trade Wind
2024 Rivian R1T
charlesk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2024, 10:18 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
waninae39's Avatar
 
2022 25' Flying Cloud
NCR , Ontario
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,222
best to use cable crimp connectors along with anti-occident grease
the first ensures that all wires of the cable acts as one
the second ensures no sparks etc
__________________
2023 25' FB FC, hatch, Queen,30A,1AC,Awning pkg, Convection uwave.Multiplus 12/3000-50,700A Lion,MPPT 100/30,Orion-TR 30,Cerbo GX,GX touch 50,Lynx distributor,dual BMV-712, smart shunt 500A&1000A, RUUVI temp/humidity sensors,2 Mopeka LP sensors
NCR,Ontario,VE3HIU since 1978
WBCCI# 21212
waninae39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2024, 04:55 AM   #4
Site Team
 
richard5933's Avatar

 
1994 25' Excella
Waukesha , Wisconsin
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 5,880
Images: 5
Good catch.

There are torque specs for these terminals, and checking them is on my annual maintenance list. Surprising how a little bouncing down the road can loosen things up, especially in the first few years after install. That copper will keep crushing for a while and tend to get loose.

For some of these you need a torque wrench that measures in inch-pounds instead of foot-pounds. I use a T-handle model which can take either screwdriver bits or 1/4" sockets. Very satisfying to hear the 'click' and know that it's right.
__________________
Richard
11018
1994 Excella 25 'Gertie' Follow the build on Gertie!
1999 Suburban LS 2500 w/7.4L V8 'Bert'
1974 GMC 4108a - Custom Coach Land Cruiser 'The Bus' (Sold)
richard5933 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2024, 11:48 AM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
2024 25' Trade Wind
Bothell , Washington
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 265
JoshJack,

Did you remove the top of the bench seat to remove the multiplus? I have an upcoming project that requires the removal of the Multiplus top case and was wondering how tough it’s going to be.

Very tight under the bench seat with all the furnace ducts.

Thanks.

Chuck
__________________
Chuck & Yvonne
2024 Trade Wind
2024 Rivian R1T
charlesk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2024, 03:23 PM   #6
2 Rivet Member
 
2024 25' Trade Wind
Boulder , Colorado
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlesk View Post
JoshJack,

Did you remove the top of the bench seat to remove the multiplus? I have an upcoming project that requires the removal of the Multiplus top case and was wondering how tough itís going to be.

Very tight under the bench seat with all the furnace ducts.

Thanks.

Chuck
Let me know if you remove the bench seat. I was looking at removing mine but it wasn't clear how to do it.
richh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best practice for running fridge on Victron MultiPlus AC2 output?? StillRod Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 13 07-26-2023 05:00 PM
Information Overload!!! Duff23 All Argosy Trailers 55 07-21-2008 05:34 AM
Honda 3000is trips to overload protection on my 2004 28ft CCD kstampa Generators & Solar Power 20 07-16-2008 06:45 PM
New member with restoration overload... BambiII'64 1964 Bambi II 2 06-29-2006 12:58 PM
Prodigy indicating short and/or overload Bob Boucneau Brakes & Brake Controllers 16 09-10-2003 07:29 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.