Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-22-2022, 10:35 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1966 17' Caravel
Lyons , Colorado
Seeking feedback on my lithium upgrade plan

Hi everyone,

The original AC-DC transformer in my 1966 Airstream Caravel failed, and I would like to replace it with a new 12V Charger-Converter, and upgrade the old lead acid battery to a new 100Ah Battleborn LifePO4 battery. I am pretty new to electrical work, so I wanted to describe my plan to see if anyone has any feedback, before I start ordering components.

Here's a description of the original electrical system:
  • The AC circuit that feeds the DC converter is 120V at 20A.
  • The original transformer outputs 12V at 25A, and 19V at 20A. I believe the 19V system is no longer used (it still connects to the low voltage distribution panel, but there are no longer any appliances left in the trailer that use the 19V input).
  • Finally, it's using 12 AWG wiring everywhere.

My plan is to swap out the original transformer for a PowerMax PM3-15LK, which is a 12V 15A charger-converter. The reason why I chose this particular model was because of the low amperage. Most of the popular converter brands (e.g. Progressive Dynamics, Go Power!, etc.) seem to make charger-converters that output a minimum of 30A. This is 5A more than the original transformer, and it wasn't clear whether it would be safe to use with the original 12 AWG wiring. I could run new wiring at a lower gauge, but that would require rewiring the low-voltage panel, which is something I don't want to do. So I chose the 15A charger-converter because it is 10A below the amperage of the original transformer, and therefore should be safe to use with the all of the original wiring.