Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2022, 02:07 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
2018 27' Flying Cloud
Atlanta , Georgia
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 187
Running AC on 15 AMP Circuit with Multiplus II

I have a Victron Multiplus II 3 KVA 2x120V Charger/Inverter. It is wired so that without shore power, there is no connection to the AC units or hot water heater.

Three times over this past summer, I was in a situation where the only power available was a 15 AMP household socket. Twice in old campgrounds and once in a friend's driveway. I lowered the allowable input to the Multiplus to 15 AMPs and plugged into shore power. I was thinking to run the refrigerator and keep batteries charged. I was not thinking about the thermostat settings.

Imagine my surprise the first time I did this when one of the AC units came on. While I have 2 AC units, I happened to have the thermostat set so that only one of them would come on. I checked out what was happening on the Cerbo GX display. The Multiplus inverter was "assisting" at about 500 watts on L1.

I have two 270 Amp-Hr Battleborn Lithium batteries. The Cerbo said I could operate this way for 10-12 hours in continuous use. What actually happened was that the AC would cut off when the temperature set point was reached, and the battery would then begin charging. The battery would fully recharge during this time when the AC was off. I was in places which reached high 80s during the day, and the trailer was in full sun.

I just thought I would pass this on. It was a nice effect of the Multiplus assist mechanism.
jnm30327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2022, 03:20 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Hans627's Avatar

 
2009 25' FB International
2018 27' Globetrotter
Hanover , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3,085
I also have the Victron Multiplus and often run my A/C on 15A. Setting the input to 15A the Multiples will draw from the batteries to make up the need power.

And when the thermostat shuts down the A/C the batteries recharge.

I love this set up. Ronnie Dennis installed it for me and I'd highly recommend him for those who are considering the upgrade.
Hans627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2022, 08:12 AM   #3
Overkill Specialist
Commercial Member
 
GMFL's Avatar

 
2020 30’ Globetrotter
2014 23' International
Dadeville , Alabama
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4,486
Images: 4
Blog Entries: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hans627 View Post
I also have the Victron Multiplus and often run my A/C on 15A. Setting the input to 15A the Multiples will draw from the batteries to make up the need power.

And when the thermostat shuts down the A/C the batteries recharge.

I love this set up. Ronnie Dennis installed it for me and I'd highly recommend him for those who are considering the upgrade.
Thank you for you kind words!
GMFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2022, 11:10 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
waninae39's Avatar

 
2022 25' Flying Cloud
NCR , Ontario
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,801
you need to use the victron app the plugs into the multiplus to set this situation
only from the direct connect can you set this up.

i had the same issue. victron manual told me this is the only means to control what happens and when with AC2 output
__________________
2023 25' FB with hatch and Queen beds
NCR , Ontario
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,562
VE3HIU since 1978
waninae39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2022, 12:10 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
waninae39's Avatar

 
2022 25' Flying Cloud
NCR , Ontario
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,801
here is the diagram
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ac1 and ac2 configure.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	120.4 KB
ID:	421383  
__________________
2023 25' FB with hatch and Queen beds
NCR , Ontario
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,562
VE3HIU since 1978
waninae39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Short Circuit in Running Lights searchcz Lights - Interior & Exterior 7 12-15-2017 10:45 AM
Connecting 30 amp cord to 15 amp circuit Matth57 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 8 06-21-2017 10:25 AM
Appliance circuit running at 15 volts leemandell Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 1 10-11-2016 05:32 PM
RBE Electronics Truck & Trailer Circuit Tester nickmeloy Airstream Classifieds 0 03-19-2016 04:21 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.