Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-09-2023, 02:48 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2023 25' Flying Cloud
Anytown , California
Newbie puzzled by battery draw while on shore power

Hi all, my first post to AirForums. New Flying Cloud FBQ owner and I'm confused by what I think is battery power being used while I'm plugged into shore power.

My trailer is plugged into 15A service. When the main battery disconnect is off and I look at my Victron Smart Shunt display I see 0 amps which I would expect to see. However, when I turn on the battery disconnect switch I see current being drawn (the Victron shunt display Current reads -2.24A). I'm new to all this but I assume that means I'm drawing current from the battery.

What I'm confused by is, if I'm plugged in to shore power, shouldn't my 12V devices all be powered by the converter and not draw power from the batteries and therefore shouldn't the shunt current still read 0 amps?

Thanks in advance
Brad
bmccarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2023, 03:42 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2023 28' International
Mercer County , New Jersey
Most 12V devices aren't dual mode (120V/12V) so when the are on they are drawing power from 12V "bus" Power to the bus comes from either batteries or the output of the converter. The shunt is measuring the flow: negative means battery is providing power and positive means the converter is with excess flowing to the batteries to charge them. Power is almost always flowing one way or the other.

Also, even with the use/store switch off, you should expect to see some draw due to parasitic loads - it shouldn't be 0

Since you are seeing a negative number and are plugged in, I'd say your converter isn't working. Is the breaker for the converter on? Is the GFCI for the outlet you are using tripped?
jeffb831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2023, 04:23 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

2023 25' Flying Cloud