Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-07-2012, 07:45 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
smalltown , Idaho
New guy with a few questions...

Hello. First post, right here.
I am a newbie, and have already gained a lot of insight watching these forums.
This last spring, I bought my first camper, and shortly after learned that the furnace is hard on batteries. I had 2 group 24s on the A frame up front. One was new, the other was on its way out. Anyway, I got tired of my batteries dying, so I installed 3 AGMs under the bed. So far this seems to work pretty good for a few nights boondocking.
My question is about the converter... It has a Progressive Dynamics Intlli-power 9130, which is good for 30 amps. I am under the impression that I really need to upgrade the converter to a 60, or maybe even 80. Is this correct? I do have a generator that I usually run at least for a little bit during the day, and it can easily handle a larger draw (5500 watts). Generally, I am only out for a few days at a time, so the 30 amp converter has plenty of time to charge the batteries before we leave home.
Question #2
The converter that I have is capable of upgrading to a 4-stage charger, by adding a "charge wizard" pendant (about $30). So, I guess my question is about the same as the first: Is it a better idea to just upgrade the converter, or keep the one I have, and add the charge wizard? Also, is there any market for a used converter, if I do end up going to a bigger model?
Thanks for any advice in advance, Chris
Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 08:03 PM   #2
"Cloudsplitter"

2003 25' Classic
Houstatlantavegas , Malebolgia
Thumbs up Welcome Aboard....

Chris,

Give Randy a call at Best Converter...he won't steer 'ya rong. Great customer service

He steered me into an IOTA DLS IQ4 55a when I installed the Lifeline AGM's.

Bob
Old 02-07-2012, 08:20 PM   #3
Rivet Master