Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-21-2022, 08:20 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Cleveland , Tennessee
How to direct wire new batteries inside the coach?

So I see a lot of discussion about placing new batteries inside, under the front bed, in lieu of among the "rat's nest" of wires in the outside battery box that involves also powering the front jack and the portable solar connection. Can this be done by using new, dedicated wires (2gauge?) and leaving the original ones alone, in the battery box outside, accommodating those other functions? I'm a novice and know nothing. Is this a relatively simple task or out of my league? If doable, what materials do I need upon arriving at the dealership to get the trailer? (They already told me they don't mess with this kind of modification.) I'm not going to be able to just drop them into the battery box temporarily because I ordered 2 of the SOK 206Ah Lifepo4's, which someone replied wouldn't fit. What would the cables need to be connected to from the batteries? What size and length jumper(s) between the 3 batteries? Can wood be screwed to the floor under the bed to hold the bank in place? If any holes to the outside are required what is recommended to seal them up? The SOK's have sideways posts on top. Do I need any special adapters to orient differently to accept the leads?
koberudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2022, 08:23 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Cleveland , Tennessee
Between the two batteries (not 3) opps.
Old 10-22-2022, 04:47 AM   #3
Site Team

1994 25' Excella
Waukesha , Wisconsin
Can't comment on the relocation - not enough information. What trailer? Do you have photos?