Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-02-2013, 08:16 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2017 30' Classic
Lexington , Kentucky
Battery Disconnect Light

I have a question about the battery disconnect switch? I want to be able to place the switch in the "store" position when plugged-into shore power for long periods of time to keep my new AGM batteries from being overcharged. But if I remember correctly, the red light on the disconnect switch stays on while connected to shore power even if I toggle the switch to the "store" position. Am I correct that the red light stays on (even in the "store" position) when plugged into shore power, and if so, how do I know for sure that the batteries are really disconnected and will not overcharge?
wlanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 08:33 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

2006 25' Safari FB SE
Merkel , Texas
battery store light

I am a newbie so I don't know much. However I do know that when plugged to shore power the light stays on in either position. But on mine I can't tell whether the solenoid is engaging or disengaging when I toggle the switch! Sorry I can't be more help.
afneill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 08:44 PM   #3
"Cloudsplitter"

2003 25' Classic
Houstatlantavegas , Malebolgia
Thumbs up

wlanford,

Disconnect the + cable on both Batt's and check for power from the cable to ground with a test light....

But....

If your coach has the Parallax 7455 series converter my best advise would be to change out the converter for a 3 stage unit. The P-Lax is noted for overcharging when on shore power for extended periods.
When we switched to Lifeline AGM's I went to the IOTA DLS 55a IQ4. Any questions give Randy a call at Best Converter, he won't steer 'ya wrong.

Bob
Old 01-02-2013, 09:01 PM   #4
3 Rivet Member

2017 30' Classic
Lexington , Kentucky