Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-09-2008, 07:31 AM   #1

2005 25' Safari
Tampa , Florida
Battery/charger issues

I am new to trailer life, a jump from backpacking and tent camping! I have had my '05 25' Safari since Nov. '05. I am in Florida so the winter weather is not an issue. Problem is a history of the batteries (two 12V deep cell) discharging rapidly when boondocking. Airstream in Ohio checked out the charging system and said all was fine. However, 2 brand new Interstate batteries later, same problem. Now, trailer sitting, with shoreline power. Seems the batteries have a problem maintaining a charge. When the setting was on 'Use', instead of a trickle charge, the batteries heated up and boiled the water out. [eventually leading to their premature demise.] If we, instead, set switch on 'Store', the batteries would drain rapidly; we also tried a 2volt trickle charger on the batteries to maintain the charge. While not overheating, they would not get to full charge. Maybe was too late due to overheating. Now need new batteries again. Why? What am I doing wrong?
campercan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 09:01 AM   #2
Aluminut

2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
Batteries and charging is a fairly touchy subject round here.

The fact is that the electrical charging system installed in Airstreams from what I understand is not a 3 stage charging system. In effect from what I've read and heard, cooked or damaged batteries are fairly common situation.

Here is a write up and an upgrade to consider:

Magnetek 6300/7300 Upgrade Kit

I have not gotten new batteries yet for my Safari, but I was not about to get new batteries before upgrading the power unit in the Safari first. I believe the conversion to the linked unit took me about 30 minutes, if that to do.