Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-14-2021, 05:39 PM   #1

2001 25' Excella
Corpus Christi , Texas
Batteries are dead

I’m a newbie to Airstreaming. I stored our 2010 Excella for the summer. Turned the batteries off, now 5 months later they are dead. How do I charge them? Do I need to take them out and hook them to a battery charger?
Bkisner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2021, 05:46 PM   #2
Half a Rivet Short

2017 30' Classic
2022 Interstate 24X
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Hi

How did you "turn the batteries off"? If you did it by throwing the typical "use/store" switch to the "store" position, that's good for maybe a month before the batteries go flat.

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2021, 08:02 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1988 32' Excella
Robbinsville , New Jersey
You could just plug in your trailer then the converter/charger will charge the batteries, you might need to put the store/use switch into use. Just realize you definitely damaged the batteries. How much you will need to find out. It's possible they have lost 20% of capacity, they might not hold any charge at all or anywhere in between.
Wazbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2021, 08:53 AM   #4
Half a Rivet Short

2017 30' Classic
2022 Interstate 24X
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Hi

Running the internal converter / charger in long term storage is not a great idea. The batteries really don't "like it". Things like lighting hits *do* happen. Cords get unplugged and breakers get tripped by unknown gremlins.

The best thing is to either pull the negative lead off the battery or put in a ($30) full disconnect switch. Then just leave it and all will be well. ( assuming the battery is in good shape to start with ....).

Bob
Old 09-16-2021, 04:16 PM   #5
Rivet Master

1988 32' Excella
Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle_bob View Post
Hi