Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-21-2020, 04:16 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2015 20' Flying Cloud
Atlanta , Georgia
Am I ruining my new AGM batteries? 18+ Volts?

Hi there,

I'm new to airstreams and I'm running into a concerning issue. The 20ft Flying Cloud that I just recently picked up showed over 19 volts when it was hooked up to generators, and from what I can tell that's way too high for the (recently installed) Lifeline AGM batteries. The previous owner tells me he upgraded the converter to a Progressive Dynamics PD6400 series converter.

Is it possible that the wall panel is reading the wrong voltage somehow? I've seen it as high as 19 volts and as low as 17 volts in the first weekend that we went camping in the trailer. I wasn't able to find anything when I searched the forums, but it seems like something is seriously wrong if the voltage from the two AGM batteries wired in series is that high. Thoughts?

Thanks! Dylan
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1irzJac - Imgur.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	58.3 KB
ID:	373572  
DStJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 04:22 PM   #2
"Cloudsplitter"

2003 25' Classic
Houstatlantavegas , Malebolgia
Did you actually hook the battery up directly the generator, or did you plug the trailer into the genset?

I believe 13.6 is the high limit on the Converter,
Could it be wired for 24v?

Bob
🇺🇸
Old 07-21-2020, 04:24 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Only on generators? What is it on shore power only? Yes, that's way high!

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 04:25 PM   #4
4 Rivet Member

2016 27' Flying Cloud
Hartsburg , Missouri
Cross check the voltage with a voltmeter at the battery. --Frank
Equalizer Hitch
fran&frank is offline   Reply With Quote