Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2015, 05:21 AM   #1
Rivet Master
 
Tincampers's Avatar
 
2007 Interstate
Sneedville , Tennessee
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,753
Where did you mount your Trimetric?

I have a Trimetric 2030 arriving today and have been pondering mounting locations. I initially thought I would mount it on the outside wall near the front television but was unsuccessful in fishing a wire through 2 horizontal ribs.

I could put it over on the kitchen wall where the cat5 cable is already run. Problem is I also need a 4 wire telephone cable to connect to the 2030 charge controller. There is one there but it is being used by the on/off switch for the inverter.

I am now thinking I will put it in the front overhead locker on the street side and use surface mount cable duct and hide it behind the curtains. The issue here is that I would need to open the locker in order to see the display. That doesn't bother me, but the SO doesn't like things open or out of place.

Where did you mount yours?
__________________

Tincampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 05:24 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
lsbrodsky's Avatar

 
2012 25' FB International
Trent Woods , North Carolina
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,572
I have a 25 FB; I mounted mine in the wardrobe forward on the street side. I just did not see how I could pull wires past the bathroom into the kitchen. The wires are under the bed platform, then into the closet.
Larry
__________________

lsbrodsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 05:29 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
Tincampers's Avatar
 
2007 Interstate
Sneedville , Tennessee
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsbrodsky View Post
I have a 25 FB; I mounted mine in the wardrobe forward on the street side. I just did not see how I could pull wires past the bathroom into the kitchen. The wires are under the bed platform, then into the closet.
Larry
So, you have to open the closet door to view the display? Any issues with that? We already have enough LEDs in the trailer at night. I really don't want any more.
Tincampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 05:58 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
65CV's Avatar
 
1959 26' Overlander
Western , Massachusetts
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,468
Images: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrprez View Post
...We already have enough LEDs in the trailer at night. I really don't want any more.
You can turn off the display.

Mine's on the aft side of the galley, out of sight from our dinette/galley. Although they may have changed the layout since 1959.
65CV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 06:01 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
Tincampers's Avatar
 
2007 Interstate
Sneedville , Tennessee
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by 65CV View Post
You can turn off the display.

Mine's on the aft side of the galley, out of sight from our dinette/galley. Although they may have changed the layout since 1959.
Thanks, I did not know that.

Yes, a few changes here and there since 1959!
Tincampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 06:28 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
lsbrodsky's Avatar

 
2012 25' FB International
Trent Woods , North Carolina
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,572
Yes, I have to open the closet door to see it. No big deal, I kind of like it hidden as it is fairly large

Larry
lsbrodsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 07:11 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar
 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10,567
Images: 5
Surface mount next to the sofa, by the flip up table with velcro on the mouse fur.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00109-20101027-1236.jpg
Views:	161
Size:	233.9 KB
ID:	252721
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 08:38 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,591
Mine is also attached to the inside of a closet door in my 20' FC. I used double sticky tape to mount it, and the cord is flexible enough and inside the closet. I don't need to see it all the time, and opening the closet to look is not an issue to me.
idroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 06:55 PM   #9
3 Rivet Member
 
2014 25' FB Flying Cloud
Cincinnati , Ohio
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 153
Lewster mounted ours over the counter of our 2014FC front bedroom. He's on these threads a lot, so you may want to ask him.
Outdoors4me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 08:33 AM   #10
Fuil-Timers
 
DreamStreamr's Avatar
 
2005 25' International CCD
Pine Swamp , North Carolina
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 675
Images: 38
Send a message via Skype™ to DreamStreamr
Too late to be helpful to OP. Ours is a 2005 CCD25, rear corner bed. We mounted ours on the fridge side wall above the furnace thermostat, in the dining room and facing the living room. We like visibility from the living room where we, well, live. Also this is where we control most of the loads. Perhaps most important, we can readily see when something's wrong, like no charging light for a day (like right now.)

Were able to easily fish the cat5 cable from the fridge outside access up past the T-stat hole and up a few inches to the new hole for the Trimetric. Looks good, it's at eye level when we're scrolling through menus, easy to operate there.
__________________
Chasing 75 Degrees,

Jim N5RTG
dreamstreamr.com
DreamStreamr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 10:02 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
gandttimes's Avatar
 
2014 25' FB International
2007 20' Safari SE
2005 19' Safari
Qualicum Beach , British Columbia
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 997
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsbrodsky View Post
I have a 25 FB; I mounted mine in the wardrobe forward on the street side. I just did not see how I could pull wires past the bathroom into the kitchen. The wires are under the bed platform, then into the closet.
Larry
Ditto with our 2014 FB international as it was the closest to where the 2030 charge controller ( I know not necessary) and since I basically set it and forget it I didn't need it out in the open.


George
gandttimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 10:03 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
mpsgolf's Avatar
 
2015 28' International
Ofallon , Missouri
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 520
I'm about to buy a TriMetric. Where did you put the shunt? Does it install at the main power panel where the battery leads come into the power system? I haven't tried to look behind my panel but it seems like a pain of an install location for the shunt.
mpsgolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 10:17 AM   #13
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar
 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10,567
Images: 5
My shunt is in the electrical center at the end of the negative battery cables, just upstream of the negative buss bar.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00103-20101027-1124.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	333.0 KB
ID:	255862

Note: this pic was taken after removal of the Parallax converter and before the Iota was placed.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00106-20101027-1153.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	356.1 KB
ID:	255863
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 10:50 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
Tincampers's Avatar
 
2007 Interstate
Sneedville , Tennessee
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,753
I put mine right at the battery.
Tincampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 11:59 AM   #15
Rivet Master
 
lsbrodsky's Avatar

 
2012 25' FB International
Trent Woods , North Carolina
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,572
At the battery
Larry
lsbrodsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 03:17 PM   #16
Full Time Adventurer
 
BoldAdventure's Avatar
 
2007 27' International CCD FB
Nomadic , USA
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,748
The shunt should be as close to the battery negative as possible. It's best if the negative battery goes straight to the shunt on one side, and all load and everything else is on the other side of the shunt.

I don't have a Trimetric but I did a clean install in the overhead bin over the kitchen counter.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	slack_for_ios_upload_1024.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	230.8 KB
ID:	255881  
__________________
Family of 5 exploring the USA with a Ram Power Wagon & Airstream in tow.
OUR BLOG | INSTAGRAM
BoldAdventure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 03:19 PM   #17
Rivet Master
 
KJRitchie's Avatar
 
2008 25' Classic
Full Time , Texas
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,309
What shunt is everyone using? 500a or 100a?

Kelvin
__________________
2008 Classic 25fb "Silver Mistress"
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins. Crew Cab, 4x4, Silver
KJRitchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 03:29 PM   #18
Full Time Adventurer
 
BoldAdventure's Avatar
 
2007 27' International CCD FB
Nomadic , USA
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,748
I am using a 500a shunt like used in dznf0g's photos above.
__________________
Family of 5 exploring the USA with a Ram Power Wagon & Airstream in tow.
OUR BLOG | INSTAGRAM
BoldAdventure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 10:27 PM   #19
Rivet Master
 
1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,591
I use a 100 amp shunt as the current will never exceed that for any equipment I have, including the 1000 watt inverter at full output. I have measured about 90 amps with the microwave running, and 85 with the toaster on.

The 100 amp shunt also gives you a higher accuracy.
idroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2016, 06:06 AM   #20
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar
 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10,567
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by idroba View Post
I use a 100 amp shunt as the current will never exceed that for any equipment I have, including the 1000 watt inverter at full output. I have measured about 90 amps with the microwave running, and 85 with the toaster on.

The 100 amp shunt also gives you a higher accuracy.
These statements are both true, but there was a reason why Randy at bestconverter.com recommended 500 amp. I just can't remember the technical reason!
__________________

__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stud Mount TV Mount on Shower Wall??? BASE729 Audio, Video & TV 0 11-29-2014 04:31 PM
Help! How did you install your Trimetric? lsbrodsky Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 20 08-14-2014 03:55 PM
Flush Mount or Surface Mount Zac&Kristin Water Heaters, Filters & Pumps 10 01-13-2008 06:59 PM
Trimetric 2020 davidz71 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 3 01-30-2007 08:29 PM
Trimetric 2020 meter nickcrowhurst Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 3 02-26-2005 07:49 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.