Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar > Generators & Solar Power
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-16-2020, 04:19 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2020 30' International
Whereweparkit , Anywhere
Solar sanity check and some other power questions

Hey all. Should be picking up or 2020 IS 30RBQ pretty soon and I’m trying to get the electrical planning worked out. I’m hoping you guys can sanity check me a bit here.

Part 1 - Solar:
My dad and I (both quite experienced with electrical work, though not solar) will be doing the install. Partially to save money and partially because it looks like a project we’d enjoy doing.

I work full time as a tech guy, so I’ll need a decent amount of power. Because of that I was thinking of starting with AM Solar’s “Deluxe Upgrade 600W”, but with one battery instead of two and 4 panels. That way I’m not over buying at the start, and I still have room to expand. I’m also hoping there’s enough room under the front lounge to install the batteries and any components that won’t fit where the factory gear is. Can anyone confirm or deny that? Is there anything else I need?

Part 2 - Generator:
I plan to pick up a Honda EU2200i with the Genconnex conversion and mount it where the factory battery box is. This is pretty straight forward, so no questions here.

Part 3 - Truck-as-generator while on the road: