Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-15-2002, 08:07 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Solar battery charging

I have some experience here in that my island cabin uses solar: 2 golf cart 210 amp hr batteries, and a 100 wt panal @12v. The situation is comparable to the Airstream. But I also have a backup 5000wt generator, propane range and refrigerator, and a certain amount of wood heat. The solar is used mostly for the lights, radio, and a very small circulating fan in the bathroom.
I have had two interesting revelations; 1) the solar panal does not produce a whole lot of power (at least in Northern Wisconsin) and 2) it is amazing how little power you can get by with for lights and radio. I have been using 6wt halogen lights but, in reality, florescents are even more efficient. Don't even think of being reliant on solar for heat, a/c, or much use of a power tool.

To quantify what I am talking about, the solar panel produces about 1/2 kw of power on an average day. Compared to commercial electric rates that is about $.03 worth. The panal costs about $500 and with mounts, regulator, and wiring, the cost per 100wts is about $800. Potential payback period for the system is about 73 years. You really have to have a special need and interest, as I did, staying on an island where commercial electricity is not available. However, I could merely have run the generator for a short period each day to charge the battery.