Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-16-2012, 03:49 PM   #1
Leavingtherut.com

2005 30' Safari
Key Largo , Florida
Permanent Generator

So my wife and I do a lot of boon docking in our 30 bunkhouse. She has a 13,500 heat pump, I run off of two Honda 2000s which I mount on each side of my flatbed (see photo), in parallel plumbed into a 12 gallon marine tank. They are tied in through a transfer switch I wired in near the ac panel, and connected through a marine twist lock cable I permanently installed up at the hitch.

We usually start the generators when we hitch up, and shut them down when we reach a destination with power. It is not uncommon for them to run over 30 hours straight while we are on the road.

Often the generators are chained in the back of the truck longer then they should be. I should know better since I used to be a cop, but still they will be there for month at a time when we are making frequent trips. I have been wanting to upgrade to a larger single unit, but have not decided yet on what (Honda 6500 or Yamaha 4500). Last week I caught two guys trying to steal the Hondas, they did not get them .

So I got to thinking, I am considering mounting a permanent diesel Cummins Onan QD 3200 under the flat bed, plumed into the trucks 52 gallon diesel tank. Question I have is if you think 3200 peak watts is enough for the heat pump? I have heard some people have had trouble with their Honda 3000 starting the newer heat pumps. What do you guys think?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Airstream 2011-12-1318-26-32.jpg
Views:	233
Size:	129.1 KB
ID:	149012  
TavnAsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 03:53 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2008 19' Safari SE
Denver , Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by TavnAsh