Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2022, 04:09 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
1997 30' Limited
1997 31' Land Yacht
Toney , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 15
Blog Entries: 1
Generator was running two AC now only one or the other not both!

Hello:

Hope everyone is well. I have a 1997 30' Airstream Motorhome Land Yacht Class A. The Generator would run the front AC and the aft birth AC. Yesterday, I had them both running from the Generator for 3 hours. I shut the Generator off and when I turned it back on it would run either the front or the Aft but not both. Has me really stumped. It's a 30 ampere load center, shore power original OEM would run front or rear select by a switch in the settee area. At some point someone wired a second "shore power" where you plug the female of a extension cord to a receptacle and the 30 ampere shore power like you would normally and it enables both AC to run at the same time. Shore power seems fine. AC units work fine. The issue is now I can only run one AC at a time from the Generator and I always could run two. Any insight is greatly appreciated I am well versed in electrical and have ampere probes and fluke DVOM. Also, does anyone know where the "Converter" or "Battery Charger" is (BC as referred in the schematic). It's not under the hood as far as I can tell its not under the rear birth bed its no where's to be found......I love this Airstream and will continue to TLC it. Its not a tripped breaker in the load center and the fuse at the Onan 5 kW is good has me perplexed. Its nothing a 5th can't take care of over the weekend Kidding so Kidding..... Thank you! Maverick
The Maverick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2022, 08:28 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
1988 32' Excella
Robbinsville , New Jersey
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,139
I'll tell what I'm believe,you might already know this. Your generator has 2 120 volt legs (like US 240 volt) 1 goes to the 30 amp panel the other goes to the second AC. No doubt a PO wired the other cord to the second leg (hopefully properly with a transfer switch). Also I'm pretty sure you need to have the AC switch set to a specific AC to have both running from the generator. So check switch then you need to check connection of the second leg and transfer switch if present.
Wazbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2022, 11:50 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
NevadaGeo's Avatar
 
1978 31' Excella 500
Genoa , Nevada
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,461
What's the amperage the air conditioners are pulling, and the amperage your generator can handle. Perhaps today the air conditioners are extra hungry for some reason. Elevation, temperature, humidity could make a difference.
__________________
I admit to being powerless over housecleaning and social niceities
Airforums 22655 and now, WBCCI 22655

NevadaGeo
NevadaGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2022, 07:47 AM   #4
1 Rivet Member
 
1997 30' Limited
1997 31' Land Yacht
Toney , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 15
Blog Entries: 1
Thank you very much! I will check as stated.
The Maverick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2022, 09:54 AM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
2019 30' Classic
2021 Atlas
Charlotte , North Carolina
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 282
And try turning off all circuit breakers except the 2 ACs. Could be the converter charging batteries creating an overload on one side.
__________________
2019 Classic and 2005 Land Yacht 396 XL and 2 cats
Certified RV Tech, LP certified in TX, generator certified and Alde certified.
LilPeanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2022, 11:52 AM   #6
3 Rivet Member
 
Gulliver72's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Barnstable , Massachusetts
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 130
I’m going with WAZBRO. It’s a challenging diagnosis.
Gulliver72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2022, 03:59 PM   #7
1 Rivet Member
 
1997 30' Limited
1997 31' Land Yacht
Toney , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 15
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by NevadaGeo View Post
What's the amperage the air conditioners are pulling, and the amperage your generator can handle. Perhaps today the air conditioners are extra hungry for some reason. Elevation, temperature, humidity could make a difference.
I want to say last time I measured it with a Fluke true RMS AC ampere probe with min max it was 11 amperes running. I am due to check it again. It is so hot in Alabama right now I can barely breath outside 95F heat index 105 F you can drink the air is ridiculous humid. Anywho this is where I want to live that is Huntsville, AL!
The Maverick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2022, 04:32 PM   #8
4 Rivet Member
 
mkcurtiss's Avatar
 
1968 26' Overlander
CORDOVA , TN
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 393
Images: 4
Two a/c plus all other electrical needs on 105 degree day may be the issue…..5000 watts is just barely enuf……if you are at some altitude , that could be pushing u over……try running them on low and see if it will do that?

I know for a fact, that my 3500w will run my camper and 1 a/c, but the amp draw is much bigger on real hot days, and it is doing all it can do to keep up……
mkcurtiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2022, 06:51 PM   #9
1 Rivet Member
 
1997 30' Limited
1997 31' Land Yacht
Toney , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 15
Blog Entries: 1
I dont think its a amperage issue. However, the local Bangston Motors service guru stated that there was a load shed device in a 2004 AS LY. I haven't been able to locate a load shed device. The surge could go above 5 kW I think I have a issue in the wiring and transfer switch. I am in process of getting my head around how it was originally wired, then modified. It's all fun....Otherwise couldn't be happier I paid 5 K for this 3 years ago. Got about 10 K into it. Still ahead in my opinion. Everyones insights much appreciated.

P.S. It will not run both when both are selected to Fan only. There is a FWD and Rear switch it always had to be in FWD for both to run on the generator. There is also a 3 position Levitin switch above the single pole double throw fwd and rear switch. I am unsure if this is stock and not sure what portion of three it should be in. Of course I have tried all combinations so far.
The Maverick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2022, 08:01 PM   #10
1 Rivet Member
 
1997 30' Limited
1997 31' Land Yacht
Toney , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 15
Blog Entries: 1
Found It- Generator Breaker tripped!

When all else fails look at the manual Hey Union rules throw out all directions and manuals upon receipt of new equipment. Kidding. Breaker tripped on Generator. It was an amperage issue must have been start up surge amps. I dont his kits good for AC to suddenly stop and then immediately try to restart them. Dometic tough.

Thanks All!
The Maverick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2022, 11:34 PM   #11
Rivet Master

 
2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9,043
Generator was running two AC now only one or the other not both!

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Maverick View Post
I want to say last time I measured it with a Fluke true RMS AC ampere probe with min max it was 11 amperes running. I am due to check it again. It is so hot in Alabama right now I can barely breath outside 95F heat index 105 F you can drink the air is ridiculous humid. Anywho this is where I want to live that is Huntsville, AL!


Lived in Huntsville, AL for many years. Still have family there. We saw temps and humidity so bad you had to chew the air to breathe.

Glad we finally got back to Southern California. Last few weeks we hit 80% humidity and over 100 degrees and thought we went back to Huntsville accidentally!
__________________
Rich, KE4GNK/AE, Overkill Engineering Dept.
'The Silver HamShack' ('07 International 22FB CCD 75th Anniversary)
Multiple Yaesu Ham Radios inside and many antennae sprouting from roof, ProPride hitch, Prodigy P2 controller.
2012 shortbed CrewMax 4x4 Toyota Tacoma TV with more antennae on it.
rmkrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator was running two (2) AC now One (1) ???? The Maverick Airstream Motorhome Forums 1 08-06-2022 10:03 AM
Tips for removing both wheels to replace both tires chaeha 2005 and newer - Bambi all models 27 12-31-2021 08:11 PM
Generator powers AC "only" while trailer running off batteries s1000pre Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 23 08-29-2020 07:09 PM
Two batteries Use only one? jbailey01 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 4 05-31-2013 12:57 PM
Only one of the two axles has brakes wolfpack Brakes & Brake Controllers 8 03-15-2010 04:05 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.