Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-09-2024, 08:07 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member

2010 27' FB International
Deforest , Wisconsin
Easiest way to charge batteries with a Generator...

I'm new to using a generator to recharge the batteries in our 2010 International 27FB. Original converter, No special batteries, Interstate Lead acid.

I have a Champion Dual Fuel 2500 watt inverter generator.

What is the best way to quickly charge the batteries when camped?

Feed power to the onboard converter via the 30amp hookup?

If so, how long would it take to "top off" the batteries?

Or use an automotive type battery charger plugged into the generator?

I assume that I would have to disconnect the batteries to isolate them if charging using the automotive charger.

We have a big trip planned, mostly camping where we would have shore power. A couple of stops we would have maybe 4 days without. Planned on using the generator at those stops to top off the batteries.

No plans to run A/C on generator.
RxGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2024, 08:29 AM   #2
2 Rivet Member

2004 28' International CCD
Lincoln City , Oregon
Your original converter is probably in the 50 amp range, so it should top off your batteries pretty quickly. An automotive type charger will also work, but I see no need for it. You do not need to isolate you batteries if an automotive charger is used.
Genboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2024, 11:39 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1988 25' Excella
1987 32' Excella
Knoxville , Tennessee