Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-29-2016, 06:07 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1973 Argosy 26
dawsonville , Georgia
Interior lights, etc.

Yes, I'm totally new to this but loving every minute of it. By profession, I am a journalist...with very little experience with electrical issues. By reading numerous posts, threads, etc.; I'm making an assumption that the interior lights only work if a 12V battery is connected. Is this correct?

I am connected strictly by power cord as the 73 Argosy I just purchased did not have a battery and I have not yet purchased one. All interior outlets work fine but no lights, exhaust fans, etc do.

Any suggestions on the best battery? Once the battery is connected should I then hear the 'huuummm' that is so often referenced? Would this likely solve the issues with interior lights...assuming the bulbs are good?

Any help or input is greatly appreciated.
Cleosdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2016, 06:33 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 Interstate
Normal , Illinois
Someone here brings solar lights inside at night...for soft, non-electric lighting

Wouldn't do for all purposes, but I thought it was a great idea, especially for boondocking.

Maggie
Old 01-29-2016, 06:46 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1951 21' Flying Cloud
1960 24' Tradewind
Folsom , California
the hum would be from the original "univolt" power converter . . . which, if it was still there, you should be hearing - or at least finding it. There's a photo in this thread:

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f449...olt-32769.html

I would think it would be wired so that the 12v Items work whether or not there's a battery present (?). Maybe it's gone?

Aluminumbskull with Led Balloon in Drag
Birch Plywood and Aluminum go together like
Peanut Butter and Chocolate
MarkR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2016, 06:49 AM   #4
3 Rivet Member
Commercial Member

1967 28' Ambassador