Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2022, 05:42 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
curnes's Avatar
 
2010 23' FB Flying Cloud
McMinnville , Oregon
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 183
Images: 6
Can't find and reset GFI to turn plugs back on

Greetings,
We have a 2010 FB 23F Flying Cloud. There are tree plugs that run off a GFI, above the kitchen sink, in the bathroom and the plug that runs the refrigerator. They stoped working yesterday while we were out camping and I just can't seem to get them to work again. Where is the GFI for these plugs? I found one in the fuse/circuit breaker box but it doesn't seem to make a difference when I hit the reset button. Any suggestions? Do I need to pull out that circuit with GFI out and replace it?
Much thanks in advance for your expert advice.
Cameron
curnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2022, 05:50 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
ITSNO60's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Tucson , AZ
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by curnes View Post
Greetings,
We have a 2010 FB 23F Flying Cloud. There are tree plugs that run off a GFI, above the kitchen sink, in the bathroom and the plug that runs the refrigerator. They stoped working yesterday while we were out camping and I just can't seem to get them to work again. Where is the GFI for these plugs? I found one in the fuse/circuit breaker box but it doesn't seem to make a difference when I hit the reset button. Any suggestions? Do I need to pull out that circuit with GFI out and replace it?
Much thanks in advance for your expert advice.
Cameron
The GFCI circuit breaker does not have a reset button, that is a test button. To reset you need to force the breaker to the off position then switch it back on. Pushing the white button will only cause it to trip, as intended.
__________________
Brian
ITSNO60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2022, 09:28 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
SuperTrouper's Avatar

 
2008 27' International FB
Petaluma , California
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,119
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by ITSNO60 View Post
The GFCI circuit breaker does not have a reset button, that is a test button. To reset you need to force the breaker to the off position then switch it back on. Pushing the white button will only cause it to trip, as intended.
Yup! x2.
SuperTrouper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2022, 09:33 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
2017 20' Flying Cloud
Williamson County , Texas
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 671
Images: 1
Unfortunately the outlets also seem to fail. We had one on our outdoor patio fail, one in the AS, and then to confound it, the brand new GFCI outlet I installed in our AS was bad. Finally got it sorted out. When the one in our AS bathroom went out, none of the other outlets would work until we replaced that with (second try) a good one.
__________________
GMC Canyon V6 Mallet Supercharger
Chevrolet K2500WT 454
SYC2Vette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2022, 09:55 PM   #5
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
2022 Interstate 24X
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 13,834
Hi

So .... backing up a bit:

A GFCI looks for leakage current to ground. If it sees leakage, it trips.

Leakage can be from somebody grabbing a wire ( yikes !!! ) or it can be from a spider web inside an outlet. The GFCI has no way of telling one from the other.

These outlets are typically daisy chained together. One device protects multiple outlets. Dirt in any outlet can trip the device and turn off all the outlets. The device has no way to just turn off one outlet and let the others run.

Resetting the typical GFCI device requires that power be present. In an RV, this isn't always the case. Cycling the device with no power applied may not reset the gizmo.

The outlets that go downstream of a GFCI device are no different than any other outlet in the trailer (other than a sticker ....). There is nothing at all special about them. All of the smarts are in the single GFCI device that is "upstream" of those outlets.

First step in any RV GFCI mystery is to spray clean the outlets with your favorite "stuff". WD40 is one choice. There are others. Only use sprays designed for this sort of thing. A normal cleaning spray like Windex or 409 will cause all sorts of problems.

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2022, 07:00 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
ITSNO60's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Tucson , AZ
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle_bob View Post

A GFCI looks for leakage current to ground. If it sees leakage, it trips.
The OP has a GFCI breaker which can also trip on overload, not just a ground fault.
__________________
Brian
ITSNO60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2022, 08:35 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
aftermath's Avatar
 
2006 25' Safari FB SE
Spokane , Washington
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,617
Cameron, in my older 25FB this happened to me. I went to the circuit breaker box and tried to reset the GFCI breaker and nothing happened. I replaced the breaker and bingo, the wife thinks it was magic. These, as all other breakers, can go bad for whatever reason. Mine did and it was an easy fix.
aftermath is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2022, 11:10 AM   #8
3 Rivet Member
 
curnes's Avatar
 
2010 23' FB Flying Cloud
McMinnville , Oregon
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 183
Images: 6
Thanks for all the responses. I reset the breaker with the power off and that seemed to do the trick. As alway, I learned a bunch from your responses and will be better equipped to repair the next problem.
curnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2022, 01:28 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
CruizinDux's Avatar
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Washington , Missouri
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,411
Quote:
Originally Posted by curnes View Post
Greetings,
We have a 2010 FB 23F Flying Cloud. There are tree plugs that run off a GFI, above the kitchen sink, in the bathroom and the plug that runs the refrigerator.

Cameron, congrats on the fix. Just a follow up, in our 20, the exterior dupe is part of the GFIC circuit


Go Dux/Beavs
__________________
WashMoBob
CruizinDux is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where is GFI reset? David2638 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 17 02-25-2021 08:37 AM
Back turn signal light bulb broke and can not get out ArgosyMinuet All Argosy Trailers 5 04-22-2013 04:36 AM
Bedroom Lights Don't Turn On/Turn Off and turn back on after a couple minutes. alecg Lights - Interior & Exterior 9 09-01-2010 02:01 PM
Can't turn back now,,, steve206 Full-Timing 9 05-12-2010 07:56 PM
How Can it Be? 2 Plugs work, 2 Plugs dont Aluminumb Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 10 07-27-2009 07:44 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.