Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-05-2017, 01:49 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2015 25' International
Scottsdale , Arizona
Adding emergency (strobes) lights

Has anyone added emergency (flashing strobes) to the back of their trailer? I am thinking about adding some emergency strobes to my truck (nothing fancy) to make it a little safer on the highway if we have to pull over and thought about adding a couple to the back of the Airstream.

If you have added emergency lights how did you hook them up?

Thanks

2017 Ford F-250 Diesel
2015 25' International
WBCCI # 5462 4CU
Ponyfvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 01:58 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2013 25' FB Flying Cloud
Longmont , Colorado
Strobes may not be as effective as you would like. Back in the 80's I was an EMT and read some of the trade journals. A study on strobes had been done in California: they made a large purchase of ambulances, and outfitted half of them with strobes on the back. The other half were equipped with just four amber flashers on the corners, going on/off in unison. The idea was to make it look like you'd expect a maintenance truck to look like.

The ones with strobes suffered significantly more rear-end collisions. I think people get mesmerized/distracted by strobes, and also excited so they want to look at the incident.
SSquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 03:24 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member

2015 25' International
Scottsdale , Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSquared View Post