Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-24-2010, 11:54 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
Terrace , British Columbia
Toilet smells!!

Hi All!! Complete novice to this site and to trailer ownership so please excuse my 'Greeness'!! I have just bought an Airstream lookalike.... The Canadian version called Travelux, I'm sure some of you may be familiar with this trailer and hope you can help even though it isn't an Airstream. The main issue is there's a very bad toilet type smell inside the trailer... The smell seems only marginally worse in the bathroom itself, I've checked all around the toilet, sink traps shower etc and I can't seem to smell anything there. The toilet seems to hold water, and it was actually a static unit so apparently it doesn't have any grey or black water tanks?? I've flushed through with fresh and sanitizer etc but can't get rid of the smell. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated as mentioned before I'm a complete trailer newbie! Thanks very much Paul.
Terricite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 11:58 PM   #2

Currently Looking...
Forgot to mention, the Travelux is a 32ft 1978, rear bath, twin bedded unit very similar to the Sovereign I think? Thanks again P.
Old 08-25-2010, 07:02 AM   #3
Rivet Master

It might not be the toilet that smells

Obviously it would be what was in the toilet, but it might not be that at all.

If you think it is a "waste" smell, I would check your vent line if it has one.
Maybe there is a nest in the vent (but you said it had no tanks ? )

Next thing to try is washing the interior. It could be mold and or mildew. I mean clean everything, inside the closets and drawers. Cushions, carpet, and curtains too!!! Then air it out
mandolindave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 07:28 AM   #4
Rivet Master

1965 22' Safari
Vassar , Michigan
My vote would be for a plugged toilet vent pipe.

Everyday is a Saturday