Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures > Sinks, Showers & Toilets
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-08-2018, 12:18 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1963 26' Overlander
Fort Collins , Colorado
63 Overland Shower Question

Hello fellow airstreamers!

I’m a newbie to the airstream community, and have found this forum extremely helpful. After reading through various threads, I decided it was time to reach out for some advice!

I recently purchased a 1963 26 ft Airstream Overlander Land Yacht, aka “Miss Loretta the Dream Stream.” I’m working on renovating her to take on a few month road trip to celebrate finishing my masters. It’s been quite the adventure, as the airstream renovation shop I took her to for a pre-purchase inspection and repairs turned out to be a scam. Thankfully, I found a great mobile rv repair shop to get her road ready, and am now back on track

My question for you guys is if anyone happens to know if the showers in this model of airstream had waterproof walls? The previous owner informed me that the tub/shower is original, and she simply added new paint. However, I am concerned about showering in it if there is a chance of damaging the walls. Someone suggested marine paint as a simple fix.

Thanks in advice and happy camping!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FFDBBDA9-FD7B-45C5-92FD-765207DEF27F.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	125.8 KB
ID:	324689   Click image for larger version

Name:	D0C499A3-E522-4DC9-8ABB-B8E8CA317473.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	166.0 KB
ID:	324690  

Click image for larger version

Name:	D848AE53-0A43-46B6-9010-6A564C9AA75D.png
Views:	75
Size:	1.32 MB
ID:	324691  
kachicca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 04:05 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander