Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-28-2002, 08:27 PM   #1

1970 rear bath restoration

I'm a big time newbie to the Vintage Airstream world and about to undertake the big restoration project of my 1970 airstream. Which was bought new the first time on my birthday how cool is that! So my first of many questions is my tub has major stains and sun damage. How can this be refinished? Is it paint ? If so whats the trick and whats the product? Any help would greatly be appreciated...
GTracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2002, 08:31 PM   #2
uwe

2007 25' Safari FB SE
1958 22' Flying Cloud
1974 29' Ambassador
Yucca Valley , California
Send a message via Skype™ to uwe
Mine, too.

Welcome to the forum. I am new as well.
My trailer, however, does have the same stainsa nad discolorations you mentioned, so i'll be on the lookout for responses to this thread.
So far my wife and I have not found anything that really cleans these plastic surfaces.
Let's see if anyone has any solutions!
Uwe
uwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2002, 12:09 PM   #3
Patriotic

1973 23' Safari
North of Boston , Massachusetts
What is the tub/shower made of? is it plastic, or fiberglass? If its fiberglass, this stuff called "zap restorer" (one of those "info-mercial" cleaners) works great....they say not to use it on plastic, though. Its the only thing that I've found that gets the red iron stains off my fiberglass tub/shower at home.
Chuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2002, 01:52 PM   #4

Plastic

Hey chuck the tub is plastic and I'm trying to find out if it is possible to paint. If so will it be durable ?? Thanks
GTracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2002, 02:53 PM   #5
2 Rivet Member

Bath refinish