Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures > Water Heaters, Filters & Pumps
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-27-2008, 11:45 AM   #1
Rivet Master

1975 29' Ambassador
San Antonio , Texas
How to Replace Hot Water Heater in '75 Ambassador?

I have removed the Bowen Water Heater, Model G10B, in my '75 Ambassador and want to find a replacement. Here's a photo of the old Bowen from the exterior prior to removal.

At this point I have very little knowledge about hot water heaters or how to choose a replacement. Will new heaters will fit the measurement specifications of the old heater? Do new heaters include a new external access cover? If the new heater vents differently the access cover will need replacing?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3260.JPG
Views:	239
Size:	316.6 KB
ID:	57063   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3261.JPG
Views:	413
Size:	406.3 KB
ID:	57064  

“Complications arose, ensued, were overcome...savvy?”
- Captain Jack Sparrow
monocoque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 01:17 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

1986 25' Sovereign
Allegan , Michigan
Bowen water heater?

Are you sure that you have a Bowen water heater? I replaced two Atwood water heaters that look very similar. Anyway, I checked the Camping World catalog for dimensions and found a direct replacement. The old cover fit the new unit without modification. (Of course, your results may vary!)