Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-11-2005, 12:32 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Berkeley , California
Rolling Artists? Special Plumbing for oil paint?

(sorry if this is in the wrong forum... point me in the right spot and I'll repost... supernewbie here)

I am just starting to shop for an Airstream to use as a mobile art studio for 1-2 months on the road. Husband is photographer, and I am an oil painter. I am very interested to see if there are other rolling artists out there, and what kind of modifications you have made to your trailers. Are there any pix or threads on the topic?

I use oil paints, some of which have the skull and crossbones on the back, so I think I'll need a seperate sink with holding tank. Initially considering putting a wet canvas carrier in the back of the tow vehicle, so we are not sleeping with fumes. Interested in the 19 or 25 foot CCD, but would go for an older 'stream if that made sense for sinks, etc.

I saw a few shots of an installation artist in the "Airstream Living" book, but it was skimpy on specifics of how the studio fits together.

Thanks... have really enjoyed reading these forums.
-Robin
fruitpie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 02:06 PM   #2
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
Welcome to the forums.
Probably the easiest way to do this, is to disconnect the sink from the grey water system, and have that one sink drain directly into a portable plastic container suitable for flammable liquids (like a 2.5 gallon gas can). It would not be difficult to do, and the can could be sealed so you don't have fumes all over the trailer.
Old 11-11-2005, 02:33 PM   #3
LEV ZEPPELIN

2004 19' International CCD
Chicago , Illinois
Robin.