Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-15-2016, 02:26 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1976 25' Caravanner
Kansas City , Kansas
How Should I Dump? (Gray tank only)

During a planned shell-off renovation I intend to reconfigure tanks and plumbing with the intent of increasing fresh and gray water capacity while eliminating the black tank in favor of a composting toilet. The primary use of this trailer is aimed at full-time, mostly boondocking/dry camping. While I have plenty of experience backpacking/tent camping I am admittedly new to the concept of camping with 5th avenue on wheels so bear with me...

I make good use of the search function and have found tons of useful info on tank design, plumbing, and even extensive discussions about the appropriate disposal of gray water. But I have not come across any specific topic that addresses my situation.

One of the apparent advantages of ditching the black tank, at least on the surface, is that I can get rid of the stinky slinky, simplify plumbing, and cut ties to dump stations and everything that goes along with them. But...I still have a tank of water to dispose of. Also, I am aware that some amount of food solids, hair, etc. will find its way into the gray tank and therefore will require a valve and hose that are sized accordingly. However, I would like to minimize the size and complexity of the drain plumbing.

Here are my questions:
(1a) Am I still mostly relegated to finding dump stations?
(1b) If so, do I still need the big 3" hose and fitting that interfaces with the "dump hole"?
(1c) If I don't need the 3" hose and gate valve then how small can I go? Still needs to be a gate valve?
(2) Are there other locations where you can dispose of large quantities of gray water?

Any input appreciated, thanks!
LifeIsRiveting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2016, 02:48 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1986 31' Sovereign
Miami , Florida