Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-14-2006, 11:21 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1974 31' Sovereign
Alpine , Texas
"gate" to black tank from toilet won't close

Hello, I'm new to airstreaming, just set up house in a freshly purchased 31-ft '74 sovereign/ land yacht. (Do I call it a sovereign or a land yacht?) After about a week and a half of using our center bathroom, the flat horizontal "gate"/"door"/"valve" that opens when you flush and closes when you're done flushing does not fully close anymore. I"ve turned off the water and stuck a stiff piece of paper in there to try to sort of clean it out (the file I have on hand is too long to get into that space) to no avail. Any suggestions? It's stinky!

(Meanwhile I've put aluminum foil over the top of the bowl when not in use, while I await inspiration or assistance.)

Thanks, Jess Moore currently in El Paso TX
jeff&jess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 11:39 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 31' Sovereign
1963 26' Overlander
1989 34' Excella
Johnsburg , Illinois
People make a tool out of a long handled screw driver and bend it 90 degrees at the end. You use the tool to dislodge the paper stuck in the slide valve recess. Go from the location that closes last into the middle to get it out.
dwightdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 11:44 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1956 22' Safari
2015 27' Flying Cloud
Vintage Kin Owner
Conifer/Evergreen , Colorado
Jess ~ Are you talking about the slide valve for emptying the black tank or the flapper between the toilet and the tank? We've use the coat hanger trick to clean the debris from the slide valve, but not the flapper...nothing usually gets stuck there.

Sounds like sprung spring in the flapper to me...

Shari
WBCCI #1824 - DenCO Unit Past President (2005)
AIR #30 - Join Date: 2-25-2002

RMVAC | ACI - CO Unit (Formerly WBCCI) | BIRDY - our 1956 Safari | 1964 Serro Scotty