Old 07-08-2020, 08:06 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2002 25' Safari
Salisbury , Maryland
Camco Tornado or any Black tank internal cleaner

Has anyone installed a camco tornado or any internal black tank flush kit that you hook a hose up to? I know a lot of people will say you don't need to but I am curious. I am of the anything worth doing is worth overdoing mentality for some things.

Thanks in advance.

MunkMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 08:30 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2018 25' International
Slidell , Louisiana
Well flushing the black tank is good, but the stock one does okay so as long as you are looking for overkill here are some ideas. ( I have a degree in Chemical Engineering and I love sewer system design....)

first, use Happy Camper while in use, it digests paper and reacts with the odorant.

Next switch to a jet maceration pump like the Sewer Solution, the jet water rinses everything after each use.

Leave 2-3 gallons of water in the tank after flushing the tank clean and then add enzyme cleaner each time you hit the road.

If it is still not clean enough (shine a flashlight down the toilet and take a look) or it smell is overpowering when you open the toilet for the flashlight look, fill the tank half way, add one cup of automatic dish washing liquid and 2 cups borax or TSP. then drive for a few hours.

Still not clean enough? hmm..... I will come up with something.

Old 07-08-2020, 09:08 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

2016 27' International
North Augusta , South Carolina
I use an attachment (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0002UHVAA..._pIObFbS56T1CD) that allows me to easily flush the black and gray tanks every time I dump. I full time and so far have always been on full hook ups, so this works great for me as my sewer hose is always hooked up. If I was moving more often, Iíd probably stick to using only the built in black tank flush and driving around with a couple gallons of water/cleaning solution method mentioned above.