Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures > Fresh Water Systems
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-24-2009, 01:12 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1965 26' Overlander
san luis obispo , California
Where to place/build the fresh water tank

Thanks to everyone on this forum, this is my first time posting and following others travails has help me this far:

Me and girlfriend purchased a 26' overlander, gutted it, removed all the inner panels, raised the shell, pulled out the chassis and have removed all the old flooring. We need to re-weld some of the frame to get the frame back in good shape, but otherwise it looks good. It did not have a clean water tank and so it is up to us to install one as well as a new grey/black combo. A couple questions for those who have been there

* I suppose one wants to keep the tongue weight to nearly zero so I could try to calculate the center of gravity to be between the dual axles after I put in the avg weight of the tanks, weight of the appliances, bed, etc.. this would take some time. Is there a general rule of thumb about placement distances from the axel?

* I want to keep the tanks below the floor, this leaves a very shallow space ~4" Getting a suitable stock tank to fit well would seem difficult. I am not bad at composites (in fact planning to do the entire interior in different composites) so I could make them. Is this what most people do, get some custom job or put them above the floor line?

* For the pump, I suppose it has to be nearly hugging the belly pan to avoid it sucking as little air as possible. (?)

Thanks
Joseph Pearce & Jessica Prentiss
josephpearce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 02:18 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

1963 24' Tradewind
San Diego , California