Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures > Fresh Water Systems
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-11-2007, 12:11 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1966 30' Sovereign
Goleta , California
Plumbing 101 for dummies.

Hi folks,
I really appreciate all the information available in this forum. I am new to this but hope to be a veteran one day, passing on the learned lessons to the newcomers. I recently bought a 1966 Sovereign for $5,000 in supposed "fantastic condition, everything works". Back at home I learned that nothing worked, and the seller never mailed me the title he promised. The skin and cabinets were in good shape. By then I was in love with the airstream and had the urge to start fixing it. I added a new floor, new astradome, and new water heater and hoped to salvage as much as possible of the rest (for ecological and nostalgic reasons). The new astradome was 1 mm smaller than the hole. According the the astradome maker, it is my trailer's fault so I shrunk the trailer hole with a hammer. The copper pipes had freeze damage in many places so I replaced all the damaged parts with PEX tubing. The furnace is now working, fridge is lighting but not getting cold, electrical is good.