Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-15-2018, 07:40 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Ft. Myers , Florida
Fresh water tank draining

Good evening everyone. I know it’s too early for winterization. But I am trying to drain my freshwater tank so that I can sanitize and freshen it. I am new to the airstream community. This is my first airstream. I have followed the owners manual to the letter. I’ve opened all the valves (5) and jacked the trailer up and down as far as it will go. No water will come out of the tubing underneath the airstream. What am I doing wrong? I don’t know how long it has been since this airstream has had water in it’s freshwater tank. Thanks again for all your help-this is a wonderful community.
Seawway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 07:41 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

Ft. Myers , Florida
My apologies, I forgot to mention this is a 1971 Safari land yacht 23 foot with twin beds.
Old 08-15-2018, 08:34 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Are you sure there is water in the tank?
What are the 5 valves?
There should be but 1 right at the tank or close by.
Look near the place where the water pump line connects.
I should ask. Is the tank above or below the floor?
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 08:34 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2019 27' Globetrotter
Missouri Valley , Iowa
If the water system was already winterized by the previous owner you may need to check the plumbing to see if you are in some kind of bypass mode with the valves. If you are referring to the low-point drain valves, there needs to be water in the system so you have something to drain out. Fill the FW tank and check for leaks, drips, etc. If no leaks - then turn on the water pump and see what you have then. Do one step at a time and check for leaks or problems after each step and at each sink, shower, water heater, toilet and the pump.

Dan