Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures > Fresh Water Systems
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-16-2011, 12:05 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
san jose , California
Can someone look this over?

I am redoing a 1953 clipper, it had been gutted by the PO, I need to set up an entirely new system. Since I have never worked on a AS before I am a little overwhelmed. My boyfriend drew out this diagram of the new fresh water system as I explained it to him ( ha ha) I am only putting in a kitchen sink, and a shower, as I am going to go with a composting toilet. I will have a 36 gallon fresh water tank and a 36 gallon grey water tank.
Would someone be so kind as to look this diagram over and tell me what I am missing and where it needs to go.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Scan 3.pdf (178.7 KB, 185 views)
suzyq55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 12:26 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 27' Overlander
1973 27' Overlander
1963 19' Globetrotter
Naples , Florida
suzyq Think it won`t work as drawn,the water tank needs a vent on it,therefore,I would move the check valve to the outlet on the pump[I believe some pumps have a built in check valve]the outside water line should have a valve ,then tie into your main line,then I would have a valved line going from the main line to the water tank to enable you to fill tank.Would suggest a water heater bypass,but it looks like you are like me and don`t need to worry about that.Hope this helps and isn`t more confusing.
Dave
easyride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 12:57 PM   #3
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by suzyq54 View Post