RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2015, 12:02 AM   #41
2 Rivet Member
 
2015 28' International
Aloha , Oregon
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 83
We have an International 2015 and it is fuse #9. Don't know on your Classic, but they are all labeled on the fuse panel door so guessing yours are labeled too.

Ours is in the shop for some warranty work so having them install a switch. I hadn't heard it was a bad board thing. Still think I want a switch and definitely don't want to keep pulling the fuse.
garybair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 06:42 AM   #42
rbs
4 Rivet Member
 
rbs's Avatar
 
2015 30' Classic
Decatur , Illinois
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 496
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 3
Fuses

I will have to get my magnifying glass out to read the small print on the fuse label, but couldn't see anything labeled "awning". I did notice that the label indicates that every fuse to be 15 amp, but my panel has 2-3 20 amp fuses. We have never had any problems or issues with the awning, used it extensively this summer and we both love it.
Where are you having the switch mounted?
rbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 09:54 AM   #43
2020 Classic 33
 
Box Elder , South Dakota
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,712
Images: 1
I had the a switch installed while I was at JS a month ago. Here's what it looks like. An hours labor plus the switch might hurt a little bit but not as much as if it came open. Also I need to get the board upgraded.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3496.JPG
Views:	161
Size:	104.4 KB
ID:	250734
__________________
Gary
2020 Classic 33 Twin, 2019 Ram 3500 Longhorn, ProPride
NVPN
ghaynes755 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 05:58 AM   #44
rbs
4 Rivet Member
 
rbs's Avatar
 
2015 30' Classic
Decatur , Illinois
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 496
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 3
That is a nice looking installation. I did find the fuse to the awning, #7 on our panel. Looks like they installed the switch to cut the power to the control panel. I will have to take a look at that.
You can contact Zip Dee and they will send you an "updated" box.
rbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 11:36 PM   #45
TinCan
 
graysailor's Avatar
 
2016 30' Classic
Apache Junction , Arizona
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 878
I also installed the on/off switch but installed one with a LED light so that I would know for certain if the awning had power to it or not.
__________________
TinCan
graysailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 05:37 AM   #46
rbs
4 Rivet Member
 
rbs's Avatar
 
2015 30' Classic
Decatur , Illinois
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 496
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by graysailor View Post
I also installed the on/off switch but installed one with a LED light so that I would know for certain if the awning had power to it or not.
did you install your switch in the same location and use the wiring to the control panel? Looks like the wiring is very small gauge to the control panel, haven't attempted to pull connector to determine how it is wired.
rbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 08:37 AM   #47
2020 Classic 33
 
Box Elder , South Dakota
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,712
Images: 1
If there is power to the awning you will have a continuous Green light on the lower right of the panel. An additional indicator would be nice but the round AS switches don't have indicators.
__________________
Gary
2020 Classic 33 Twin, 2019 Ram 3500 Longhorn, ProPride
NVPN
ghaynes755 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 11:46 PM   #48
TinCan
 
graysailor's Avatar
 
2016 30' Classic
Apache Junction , Arizona
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 878
I did it a little backwards but I understand it. Red light means that there is power to the awning. Had I thought about it I should have gotten a Green LED switch and then that could mean power to the awning. Any auto parts store has these on/off switches in Red, Green and I think even blue. So in my case I would have a green light on at the power center and a red led light indicating power to the awning.
__________________
TinCan
graysailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2015, 12:06 PM   #49
Rivet Master
 
2015 30' Classic
Pleasanton , California
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 743
Just got off the phone with Zip Dee service and yes, they have an updated control board for the 2015 Classic Relax awning. Your AS dealer should do this for you but I opted to replace the board myself as the nearest dealer is an hour away.

The procedure to do this yourself is for you to purchase the new board (less than $200), then when you return the old board they will credit you.

I'm usually not a belts and suspenders guy, so I'll replace the board and trust that they've determined the root cause and corrected the issue.
__________________
Al, K6IV
2015 30' Classic, "Chez Nu"
2014 RAM 2500 w/Cummins Diesel
ProPride Hitch, 400 W Solar
alano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2015, 01:52 PM   #50
Rivet Master
 
2015 30' Classic
Pleasanton , California
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 743
OK, here's a follow-up. I just got off the phone with Nate from Zip Dee.

There is an updated board (new firmware, no hardware changes) for the Relax awning. The new firmware makes a few changes such as lowering the motor current limit and adding a timeout timer to prevent motor burnout. The firmware update DOES NOT address the awning opening issue.

He said Zip Dee is suggesting folks add a SPST (single-pole, single-throw) switch to interrupt power to the control board. He said Zip Dee was working on a new panel design that would incorporate a switch but that the design is still in progress and is not yet available. He said he thought the panel size would grow to accommodate the switch so the new design would only be incorporated into future AS models.

I'm considering adding a temporary switch underneath the sink and then have the option to perhaps incorporate the updated control panel when it is available. Adding the switch seems like prudent step after all.
__________________
Al, K6IV
2015 30' Classic, "Chez Nu"
2014 RAM 2500 w/Cummins Diesel
ProPride Hitch, 400 W Solar
alano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 09:30 AM   #51
2 Rivet Member
 
2015 28' International
Aloha , Oregon
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 83
Alano, that's consistent with what our AS dealer is saying too.

Here's some additional information for those that want to install a switch. Our AS shop said there is a multi-wire cable that runs to the wall control panel and they are uncomfortable tapping into that to gain access to mount a switch nearby.

They said it would be a few hours work to route wires from the fuse box to the wall, if we wanted to mount a switch right next to the control panel (I do believe that would be some work). I don't want to pay multi hundreds to prevent the awning from opening on the freeway again. Optionally, just 1 hour labor they could mount a switch on the side of the back couch, close to the entry door (this is a 28), but in that area we store our tool box and we don't want things bouncing around hitting the switch accidentally.

So I told them not to install a switch. I will take the time install my own switch, somewhere, I don't know where yet. Or will keep pulling the fuse in meanwhile..
garybair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 10:45 AM   #52
Rivet Master
 
switz's Avatar

 
2014 31' Classic
2015 23' International
2013 25' FB International
Apache Junction , Arizona
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5,607
Images: 8
Make sure the switch you select is rated for the maximum current draw of the electric motors when they start up to move the awning. You may find that the minimum is at least a 20 amp rated switch.
__________________
WBCCI Life Member 5123, AIR 70341, 4CU, WD9EMC

TV - 2012 Dodge 2500 4x4 Cummins HO, automatic, Centramatics, Kelderman level ride airbag suspension, bed shell

2014 31' Classic model 30 twin beds, 50 amp service, 900 watt solar system, Centramatics, Tuson TPMS, disc brakes, 16" tires & wheels
switz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 11:32 AM   #53
2 Rivet Member
 
2015 28' International
Aloha , Oregon
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 83
Good suggestion. One would want any switch to be able to handle more current than the fuse protecting it - that way the switch will never fail from excessive current.

Well, the fuse is rated at either 15 or 20 (can't recall right off) so the board can't be designed to draw any more current than that.
garybair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 09:07 PM   #54
Rivet Master
 
2015 30' Classic
Pleasanton , California
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 743
I liked Gary's setup with the same Chrome switch as in 2015 Classic so I called Airstream and asked for the same switch. They told me you'll need to contact your local dealer. So I contacted Bay Area Airstream and they looked up the price of the switch, about $75 for the switch and $10 for the frame.

Seems a bit much for a switch so I pulled the switch in my bathroom and located the manufacture. It's made by a German company and impossible to find stock in the US. So I called Airstream customer service, explained the problem, said I was willing to do the installation myself but I'd like the switch at a reasonable cost and they said they would send me one for free!

I'm planning to install it this weekend. Should be a piece of cake. Glad to see Airstream do the right thing.
__________________
Al, K6IV
2015 30' Classic, "Chez Nu"
2014 RAM 2500 w/Cummins Diesel
ProPride Hitch, 400 W Solar
alano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2015, 02:21 PM   #55
Rivet Master
 
2015 30' Classic
Pleasanton , California
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 743
Just a quick update for those wanted the same switch as ghaynes755, the part numbers from Airstream are 512825-01 - Switch Frame, 512827 - Switch Rocker.
__________________
Al, K6IV
2015 30' Classic, "Chez Nu"
2014 RAM 2500 w/Cummins Diesel
ProPride Hitch, 400 W Solar
alano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 03:45 PM   #56
:SPACE A" S/O 11 Air19745
 
guskmg's Avatar

 
2006 34' Classic S/O
Fort Worth , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,336
I usesd a 20 amp rocker switch from my local RV store. If you go to the computer panel, select the plug with two wires, pullback the insulation and tap into the positive wire. Use a couple of crimp butt connectors and you are done. My panel was inside of the cabinet under the kitchen counter so I just placed it near their panel. I use their green LEDs as a power on indication.
Guskmg
guskmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who has a Zip Dee Relax 12v Automatic Awning? veg hed Awnings 47 08-16-2018 09:04 AM
Zip dee automatic awnings JimGaskill 2011 - 2015 International 1 03-14-2015 07:59 PM
RELAX 12v AUTOMATIC AWNING RETROFIT KIT by Zip Dee for Main Awning LaBigDogs Awnings 12 07-30-2013 03:02 PM
Zip dee automatic awning Nomad, 2nd Awnings 9 07-20-2013 12:32 PM
Zip Dee up or Zip Dee down? highsidepass Awnings 24 11-17-2007 09:12 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.