Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum > Awnings
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-11-2011, 10:29 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1972 29' Ambassador
Marshall , Michigan
Totally bummed!!! Need help. My awning blew off and broke :(

My husband and I have a 72 29' Ambassador and several months ago we had a really bad storm that ripped off our awning. Only one of the arm brackets that connects to the body isn't broken. And to top it off where it was connected on the other side we need replacement aluminum. Can anyone please help us find where to find the best/cheapest place to buy the aluminum and also the awning pieces. We want zipdee, however it's waaaay more than we were hoping to pay. Please help!! I want to take my airstream out again!
AIRMONTY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 10:47 AM   #2
x

XXXX , XXXX
Airmonty what size is your awning? I have a slightly damaged Zip Dee awning tube & roller. It is a 21ft brand new with blue fabric. UPS dented it during delivery. A new one that size is $1050 from Zip Dee. PM me if interested.
wasagachris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 05:58 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

1974 31' Sovereign
Spring Hill , Florida
We had this happen to our '74 Sovereign. Broke one support arm and bent the tube. We can't afford to fix it at this time, so we took it off and got a 10' x 10' folding canopy. Not as fancy, but it gets us out of the sun and out camping.
sepezlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 06:25 PM   #4
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
1984 31' Airstream310
Ajo , Arizona
Save your milk money until you can afford a zipdee, you'll not regret it.
Mike Leary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 06:26 PM   #5
steel/aluminum fabricator